Proof and Pudding


History is often the best testifier of truth.

Someone can say, “Hey, I’ll be there for you,” but does his or her record support that? Does history testify to the truthfulness of his or her words?

I “stumbled upon” a verse in Psalm 8 that reached out and grabbed my heart and made me think of history as a testimony. Verses 9 and 10 say, The LORD is a refuge for the oppressed, a stronghold in times of trouble. Those who know your name will trust in you, for you, LORD, have never forsaken those who seek you.

See, for God to say “I will never leave you nor forsake you” is awesome, sure it is, but it’s speaking about the future, something we know nothing about and our human minds start to dwell on the “what ifs” and doubts crowd out the truth. Yes, we know God doesn’t lie and if He says He will never forsake us than that’s as good as it gets but still, in the middle of the storm, we wonder and we doubt (at least I do).

But verse 10 of Psalm 8 says it all, it’s the proof in the pudding (anyone know where that saying came from? (the proof is in the pudding)). Those who know Your name will trust in you, for you, LORD, have NEVER forsaken those who seek you.

God’s history (His story) says it all. We can trust Him because He has never forsaken those who seek Him. We can trust His words, His character, His promises, because His history testifies to his faithfulness.

That’s something I can remind myself of often. And what an interesting study that would make. A study of God’s faithfulness, not only in mankind’s past, but in my own life.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on September 30, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -Wonderful post! A constant theme through the last 2 1/2 years has been God’s faithfulness. I’ve seen him meet my needs in every area – spirit, soul, and body. Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

  2. You know Mike, this is so true! We all walk through different valleys. I’ve been in a rather endless one for a while now in regard to several issues. However, I can testify boldly of God’s faithfulness! He has NEVER left a need unmet! And often, He just blesses our socks off just because He knows our hearts and loves us anyway! Truly, whatever we are facing or will ever face, we will NOT face it alone if we belong to Christ!Amen and Amen!Kim

    Like

  3. Awesome words, Mike! I’ll spend some time reflecting on those verses (Psst….they’re actually in Psalms 9). I’m so living in the “trust” realm with God right now. My wife and I recently completed a Bible study with two other couples on the subject of contentment. The book we used, a women’s Bible study written by Linda Dillow called Calm My Anxious Heart, was relevant for our group. The last three chapters dealt with trusting God with our What Ifs, If Onlys, and Whys. Even though I’m still weak, I am daily learning to trust God’s character, remember His faithfulness in the past, and rely upon Him for the future.Thanks for the timely post. I need the reminder often (like hourly).

    Like

  4. Amen to that! I can’t wait to read that story!!!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

