Life’s Classroom


Last night I was thinking back to the early stages of this cancer ordeal and how I felt at that time. I remember having a completely wrong idea of what I was in store for when I was first diagnosed and how I was snapped into reality the first time I saw the surgeon and he explained the road that lay ahead, how overwhelming and frightening it all was. And I remember leaving his office thinking, “Uh, Lord, this isn’t what I signed up for. I think I’m in the wrong class.”

I had that happen a few times in college. The first day of classes was always a little hectic and hurried and I’d sit in a lecture thinking I was in the right class only to find out I was in the wrong place at the right time. Contemporary Women’s Liberation Theory wasn’t what I had signed up for.

Now, fast-forward almost seven months (has it been that long?) and I know that though I didn’t sign up for this class, I’m in it and I am indeed learning.

I’m learning how to be a person, how to feel and emote and struggle and triumph. I’m learning how to be honest with myself and others and God. I’m learning how to loosen my grip and even let go, how to empathize, how to encourage, and how to trust.

Life’s classroom isn’t always easy and it surely isn’t always something we volunteer for, but it is an opportunity to learn and grow. Yes, sometimes the learning is hard and growing is harder but I’m hoping to someday look back on this and see that it was beneficial, that the lessons I’m learning here I could only have learned by sitting in this class.

Now, about the saying “the proof is in the pudding.” No one commented on it! Some sources say it dates back as early as the fifteenth century and the original saying is “The proof of the pudding is in the eating” (we’ve shortened it over time), meaning the validity of something can only be found in the testing of it. You think your pudding is so great, well, let me eat it and we’ll just see about that.

Here’s another one for you. Where did the saying “It costs an arm and leg” come from? I’ll tell you tomorrow.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on October 1, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -I’m glad the Lord has a way of turning things meant to kill, steal, and destroy in our lives into something that has the opposite effect. I have no idea where the expression, “it cost an arm and a leg” originated. I’m looking forward to finding out tomorrow. Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

  2. My brother, Dave’s, website is the place to check out the origin of phrases like these:http://www.wordorigins.org/index.php/site/proof_of_the_pudding/he doesn’t have a listing for “costs an arm and a leg,” though.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

