Part of the Facebook Revolution


I’m now officially a Facebooker (or Facebookie?). My wife got into this a little while ago and convinced me I needed a page as well. I resisted as long as I could, but alas, the long arm of Facebook eventually found me and roped me in.

I have to admit, it’s been nice to get back in touch with some old friends from high school and to keep in touch with current friends. But boy, can it be time-consuming. I’m one that likes to watch my time, that’s how I get writing and such done in spite of a typical busy life. But this Facebook thing has me stumped. One, I’m still figuring out how to use the whole thing and how to reap the benefits of being involved, you know, what’s the dividend to my time investment. And two, there’s just so many profiles of other people to look at, and pictures, and posts, and updats . . . enough! I need to work on some writing or something.

The real benefit, though? People. Facebook is yet another way to invest in the lives of others. Yes, it’s part of this whole online social networking craze that seems to have overtaken us as people and is supposed to bring people together, but is it really? Is this the wave of the future, individuals sitting in the privacy of their homes socializing via a keyboard and monitor but never really interacting with each other on a personal, face-to-face level? I don’t know. Do things like Facebook bring people closer together or drive them further apart?

Hey, maybe I’m taking this whole thing too seriously. (Not to self: Lighten up!) Look, interacting with people, even via the internet, is better than no interaction at all, right? Now, I just need to manage my time on it.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on October 6, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -I joined Facebook a couple of months ago thanks to a good friend. One of the benefits was reconnecting with an old friend and viewing pictures of her kids. While face-to-face contact is preferable, people are so scattered throughout the country it’s often impossible. As far as time concerns, I only go on if there’s a message in my email or I have some downtime (maybe once a week).Since I also belong to My Book Therapy, TWV2, have a blog, and visit blogs, I have to be careful how I divvy up my time.Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

  2. Mike – I have to laugh not being a tween when I joined facebook I was stumped by the interested in line in the profile. Do I put I am interested in men or women? Eventually I just erased my answer, so people would not be confused. or at least I wouldn’t be! Anyway welcome to the facebook world. and YES it can be very time consuming!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

