Oh, Crap!


Sorry about the title of this blog but you’ll see how appropriate it is later on.

So I saw the oncologist yesterday and, well, it was an interesting visit. First, I told him about my neuropathies and how my feet are numb and feel swollen and sometimes hurt and he said, “That’s it then, no more Oxaliplatin [the infusion chemo].” He said even if I wanted more treatments he wouldn’t let me have them. That was an answer to prayer because I didn’t want to have to convince him I didn’t want anymore. I knew without his full support to stop the infusion treatments I may wind up second-guessing my decision.

The good news is that the Oxaliplatin is the drug that causes most of my adverse side effects. I can hardly believe I won’t have to deal with the nausea and cold sensitivity and fatigue anymore! And the neuropathies shouldn’t get any worse.

I’ll finish up these last three cycles of chemo on the pill alone (Xeloda).

Then things got really interesting and I learned just what kind of man my oncologist is. He had me lie down on the table so he could check my abdomen and heart and all that good stuff and sometime along the way my ostomy bag came unclipped (unbeknownst to me or him). So when I stood the contents emptied down the front of my pants, on my shoes, and all over the carpet in the exam room.

Yeah, not good. Not good at all. Talk about one of those moments I’ll mention when someone says, “What was your most embarrassing moment ever?”

Now, here’s the clincher. My oncologist, a man who is the cancer guy in York, Pa., probably mid-sixties, very refined, was on his hands and knees wiping the you-know-what off my shoes and scrubbing it out of the carpet with paper towels. He wiped my pants down and even volunteered to go out to my car and get the spare pair of pants I keep there for something just like this.

I kept apologizing, and he kept saying, “Goodness, Micheal, I’m just glad you’re alive, this is nothing. Don’t worry about it at all.”

When we were finished cleaning me up, he looked at me and said, “Michael, it’s moments like these you just have to say, ‘Oh, s__t’.” We both had a much-needed laugh and I went on my way impressed beyond imagination not with what kind of doctor he is, but with what kind of man he is. It takes a humble person to clean the you-know-what off someone else’s shoes.

On a different note, I was reading from Psalm 66 this morning and came upon a verse I just had to mention. Verse 5 says, “Come and see what God has done, how awesome His works in man’s behalf!” I love that.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on October 16, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. The Lord certainly gave you a fantastic doctor and a good man to see you through all of this!! Thank you for sharing this. It made me smile of course, but it made me realized that we all need to be about our days with a servant’s heart like your doctor!Kim

    Like

  2. I read your title and thought, “Uh oh, the conversation with the oncologist didn’t go well.” Not so!Thanks for sharing an awesome human-interest story, Mike. I can understand why you are so impressed with the character of your doc. His humble action reminds me of Jesus washing the feet of his disciples. Foul odors, filth, and crap did not stop Him from serving.

    Like

  3. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -Great news about the chemo treatments! I’m sure that gave your morale quite a boost. I’m glad you have a doctor, who is not only a good oncologist, but also a caring individual. It means so much when medical professionals treat the whole person.Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

  4. Great story! I mean, it’s not one I want to have, but someone has to have the great stories to tell.

    Like

  5. What a beautiful story.

    Like

  6. Poo is such a taboo subject, or so I thought until I saw you had 5 comments. In my nursing career it was the substance that I encountered daily,because everybody has to do it.And, sometimes you need help, especially if encased in plaster or strung up in traction.Ostomy bags too are not a subject generally discussed over coffee, although I spent a dinner party discussing the size ,shape and effectiveness with a guy who wanted to know if others had such a problem with mushrooms.God created us such wonderfully practical bodies and then even provided alternatives to use if they malfunction.Absolutely wonderful news about the chemo…. we’ll keep on praying!That consultant is worth his weight…wish there were lots more like him…Have you read “Fearfully and Wonderfully Made” by Philip Yancey and Dr. Paul Brand….Love in Jesus!Jenni

    Like

  7. LOL! Love the doc’s comment! I’m sure you weren’t LOLing in the moment, but what a blessing to have such a doc caring for you and with a great sense of humor!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

