Feeling Old


Question: Does cancer and chemo shave years off your life? I mean, does it make you physically older than your chronological age?

I feel like an old man. If I sit for any length of time, when I stand my feet hurt, my knees creak, my back is stiff. When I get out of bed in the morning it’s the same story only worse.

I’m only 36 and didn’t feel like this before cancer/chemo. I know I haven’t been as active as I used to be so maybe that has much to do with it, but c’mon, I feel like I’m sixty-something (not that sixty-something is old, mind you, it’s just that, um, well, I mean, oh brother, never mind . . . Warren Buffet once said, “When you find yourself in a hole, the best thing you can do is stop digging” (thanks Rachelle Gardner). So I’m stopping).

The point is, I feel older than my years–much older–and am wondering if, when all this cancer stuff is over, I’ll get back to feeling thirty-something again. I sure hope so.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on October 25, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Are you saying those physical symptoms aren’t the norm at any age??? Hmmph.Nice back-pedal on the age faux pas, Mike. As we grow older, so does our definition of “old.”Seriously, I hope you are feeling youthful again soon!

    Like

  2. You were always wise beyond your years anyway Mike. The body has to catch up at some point. πŸ™‚ peace

    Like

  3. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -When I went through surgery in January, I felt like 100 years old. It takes time to bounce back from any physical illness. You’re still going through treatment. You’ll regain your strength. Isaiah 40:29-31Blessings,Susan πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. I felt totally drained during cancer treatment (for AML), and I got back to running and tennis when I recovered. I bet that once it’s over, you’ll bounce back. Hey just wondering: Are you drinking enough water and other good liquids? You can feel extra-drained if you get dehydrated.

    Like

  5. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -I have Jury Duty tomorrow (Monday, 10/27). If you don’t see comments for the next few days, you’ll know why.Blessings,Susan πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Still praying for you, Mike. God is in control and works all things for good to those who love Him.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

