Required Reading


Yesterday I spoke to the middle and high schoolers at the Christian School of York about my writing and battle with cancer and some of the things God has been teaching me through this valley. You know kids, some looked like they were really paying attention, others looked as though they’d rather be sticking pins in their eyes.

I had an eighth grade teacher approach me and tell me that she loved The Hunted so much and was so impressed by the spiritual themes in it that she ordered thirty-some copies for her English class, laminated them, and is going to make it required reading for the whole class. I told her I’d love to come in and discuss the book with them when they’re finished reading it.

It’s an odd feeling to have your book be required reading for school kids. I’m still getting used to this whole “published author” thing.

All in all a good event and I walked away blessed. I can only hope the kids were half as blessed.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on October 29, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -What a blessing! It’s encouraging to know you’re writing is touching people’s hearts.I’ll bet some of those kids who didn’t seem interested would pay more attention if they read the book. Maybe next time, you could have a drawing or contest to go along with your talk.Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

  2. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Oops – it’s still early. I messed up on that “you’re.” Should have been “your.” I hope the grammar police don’t slam me. :)Susan

    Like

  3. Oh, this is wonderful!! I’m so glad this went well Mike! I know you were such a blessing.YAY, God!!Kim

    Like

  4. Yikes! Very neat about the required reading :-)I also loved the “pins in eyes” phrase. Hilarious and so true.

    Like

  5. When the going gets tough ,even if it’s some years away, you can bet that those “pins in their eyes” kids will recall something that you said.From little seeds……

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

