My Hair is on Fire!


Well, it’s finally over. Half the country is ecstatic, half is disappointed. Change was wanted and change is coming. But enough of that; it kept me up too late last night and now I’m getting a delayed start on my day.

I honestly didn’t know what to write about this morning so I opened my Bible to the psalms and read whatever my eyes fell on (I like to do that sometimes).

Psalm 46:1-3 God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear though the earth give way and the mountain fall into the heart of the sea, though its waters roar and foam and the mountains quake with their surging.

And then verse 7 The LORD Almighty is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress.

Has anything in life ever caused you to say, “It felt like the earth just gave out beneath my feet,” or “My world fell apart.” I know I have. These verses are for us. Even though things may come in life that rock our world, that tumble our dreams and aspirations, shake our moorings, and scare the whoopdedoo out of us enough that we feel like running around screaming like our hair is on fire, we can always . . . always . . . rest assured that God is our refuge and strength, our fortress. He never changes.

I like that.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on November 5, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -Catchy title – got my attention. Thanks for an inspiring post.I’m still reading in Psalms. When I opened my Bible this morning, my eyes fell on two verses: Psalms 27:13-14.Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

  2. A-men!! and A-men!!I needed this encouraging reminder this morning!Kim

    Like

  3. Don’t worry, Mike. It will be all right.Change is nothing to be feared. Remember, it was the Lord who said, “Behold, I am doing a new thing.”There were deep, Christian principles expressed on both sides of this campaign. Some of us differ in how those principles ought to be lived out, because we understand God’s word in different ways. Yet, let us seek to have faith that God’s will is working itself out, through it all.Grace and peace.Carl”A Pastor’s Cancer Diary”http://www.cewilton.blogspot.com

    Like

  4. Hi, Mike. I haven’t commented before, but I’ve been reading your blog for some time. Twenty-one years ago, my father died suddenly, my career nosedived and my church imploded, all within a matter of weeks. It seemed that everything I understood and everything I was moored to had evaporated. But I had my family and I had my health, and I knew I had God. Great good came out of it, but going through it was awful.Twelve years later, I went through another round. I can look back and see the blessing, but when you’re in the wilderness, you’re not thinking about where the lesson or blessing is, but more about what you’d give for just a few drops of cold water.Know this: there are people you don’t know and you never met who are walking with you and your family in prayer.Glynn

    Like

  5. Mike !! Thanks! I’m truly disappointed in the results today. But I think, as the good conservative I am that what you do with the tough times makes you stronger. I’m up for the fight and am not waving the white flag of surrender.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

