7 Book Facts About Me


Kim over at Window to My World tagged me for this 7 random facts meme, with a twist! The 7 random facts have to be book related facts.

1. I love reading and I read a lot but I’m so slooow it takes me forever to get through a book.

2. In junior high school I was mesmerized by C.S. Lewis’ Chronicles of Narnia. I could have read them a hundred times over and never grown tired of them.

3. In high school I was really into historical romance (how embarrassing . . . I can’t believe I just confessed that).

4. Frank Peretti hooked me on suspense and I haven’t been able to wiggle off that hook yet.

5. I force myself to read some non-fiction, but honestly, I have to force myself.

6. I’ve never read a single word of a Harry Potter book. Does that make me some sort of anomaly?

7. I read as much to learn the craft as I do to enjoy a great story.

So there you go, 7 things you may not have known about me and some things you may wish you hadn’t learned. By the way, that bit about being into historical romance? It doesn’t leave this blog, okay?

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on November 7, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I read the Chronicles of Narnia to my oldest, when he was 7 and I was, well, older than 7. the Lord of the Rings trilogy hit big time when I was in college, and I read them straight through. I’ve read Perretti, and, this means there two of us out there — I read historical romance in high school, too (Anya Seton, for example). And yes, it stays in this blog.

    Like

  2. No Harry Potters? At all? You are so missing out. If your #7 is true, then you really should read them. They are excellent examples of the craft. You’ll probably get so hooked that you’ll have the shorter ones read in only a few days.If you really must watch the movies instead of the books, then you can safely watch movies 1-3 since they are essentially the books. Starting with movie 4 a lot in the books gets left out. Movie 5 was a disaster! Book 5 is a lot different and a lot better.My favorite chapters: The fireworks chapter in book 5 when the twins leave Hogwarts AND Felix Felicitas in book 6. Those are excellent!

    Like

  3. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -Shhh – I’ll never tell. :)I’ve never read Harry Potter either. I don’t like the whole occult nature of the books. My first love is non-fiction, but fiction has won a place in my affections. I, too, enjoy Frank Perretti, especially his first two books. BTW, I’m halfway through some guy’s book – what’s his name? – oh yeah, Mike Dellosso. Mind-boggling suspense!Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

  4. Mike, Don’t worry about taking your time with a read. It’s likely to your benefit. I’m a fast reader, but I have the retention of a door knob. Ask me about the plot the day after finishing a book and I hardly remember it, let alone the author. And I suck at remembering titles…Was it The Haunted? The Hurtin’? Oh, yeah, The Hunted.I haven’t read Narnia or Potter, and fought the idea of reading Perreti’s “Darkness” books. Once my wife convinced me to try the Peretti books, I found I loved them. I’ve read one of his Cooper Kids Adventure books and would like to see my ten-year-old read the series.

    Like

  5. Thanks for having some book-fun with the meme, Mike! You’re not alone with the Harry books – I haven’t read them either.And non-fiction, it’s tough for me, but I keep trying.Kim

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

