Walking Through Open Doors


Has anything ever happened to you or have you ever experienced anything that you just couldn’t wait to tell people about? A promotion, an award, a gift you received, some new factoid you learned.

I’m there.

Now that I’m on the tail-end of this cancer treatment (two more rounds of chemo, surgery to reverse ostomy in January) I’m looking back and seeing all the important and life-altering lessons God taught me, all the things He’s shown me about myself and Himself, my weaknesses and His faithfulness. And I just want to tell people.

This blog provides a great outlet but there’s something about talking to people face to face, answering questions, interacting, that beats all. You know what I mean.

So I pray about it. I pray, “Lord, I want to tell people about what you’ve taught me through this ordeal. You open the doors and I’ll walk through them.”

Now, understand, for me that’s a scary prayer. I’m not Mr. Public Speaker. I’ve always struggled with stuttering and speaking in front of any group has always made my heart race and palms sweat. In school I remember wishing a tornado would strike the place before it was my turn to give my oral book report or speech.

But there’s this sudden need I have to tell people about what God’s done in my life, about the journey He’s taken me on and seen me through, about the struggles I’ve had along the way and how He’s been faithful through every one.

And you know what? Funny thing, He’s opening doors. Just this weekend I was asked to speak at our church’s men’s breakfast this winter and the singles’ retreat next spring.

I’m still not always comfortable saying yes to these things, but a promise is a promise. He’s opening doors . . . I’ll walk through them. It’s just another way I’m learning to trust Him.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on November 11, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. And there may be one person at that men’s breakfast, or one person at that retreat, who hears you and realizes they better have a doctor check that problem they’ve been having — and you will have saved a life. Or someone who hears your story, and gets the courage to go forward. Or someone who realizes that they’re not struggling with a mountain but a molehill. Someone who gets encouraged. Or inspired. Or challenged. That’s why you do it, because it’s what God calls us to do.

    Like

  2. YAY God!!!! Mike this is awesome!! You just stay faithful. I can’t wait to meet you face to face one day and hear you speak!Kim

    Like

  3. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -Our God is awesome. He takes the most awful things in our lives and turns them into blessings.Susan 🙂

    Like

  4. Josh. 1.9!!! Jenni

    Like

  5. God is amazingly faithful and if we just let him he’ll take us where he wants us to go. Hmmm, just thinking if I’m letting him. Probably not enough, but I’m learning to let go more every day!Thanks for sharing your journey!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

