A Question for You


Here’s a question I’ve been rolling around in my head for some time now and I’d like your input on the matter. What can be/should be fiction’s role in evangelism? Is there a place for fiction in sharing the good news of God’s salvation with others?

I debated whether to pose this question in this format or not. Don’t know why, I was just hesitant to. But now that I did, please don’t be shy about answering. I’d really like to know your opinion. I’m going to leave this post up for a couple days and give everyone time to answer if they want to.

By the way, there’s no right or wrong answer so please don’t tell me what you think I want to hear or what you think is the proper “Christian” thing to say. Just be honest.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on November 12, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -Great question! I think there are many ways to evangelize. Because we’re all so different, we don’t all respond to one particular method.I firmly believe in prayer preceding any type of evangelism. Otherwise, we risk giving people just enough to vaccinate them. I think fiction has a dual purpose: encouraging Christians to grow in the Lord and arousing curiosity in the unbeliever. A Christian book alone might not bring someone to Christ, but it can plant a seed. I could go on and on about this subject, but I’ll stop here. I’d love to see more discussion on blogs about this subject.Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

  2. There is an English author, Adrian Plass who uses fiction to evangelise.I won’t list them but most bookshops stock them. His approach is sometimes humourous, sometimes poignant but always gets you thinking.The ordinary man on the street is far more likely to buy a fictional book than non.I also think that they appeal to older teens too.God obviously has some exciting things in store for you. Hold onto your hat! Jenni

    Like

  3. Mike, there has been “hot” debate going on about this for a while. One side is firmly planted in having the gospel message in plain view and others firmly planted in “covert” messages so that they don’t sound preachy. If you want a front-row seat to active discussions about this, check out Becky’s A Christian Worldview of Fiction (http://rebeccaluellamiller.wordpress.com/)Anyway, I got sidetracked. As a Christian, I know you seek God’s will in your writing, so I believe He will guide each individual author to place the gospel message where He wants it to be. Fiction is a terrific vehicle for this in my opinion, because it places the gospel in a medium that people are drawn to and enjoy. As long as you are doing what God has given you to do, and if that means using fiction as a vehicle for evangelism, then that’s the right thing to do.I know as a believer, I prefer God’s message to be front and center in my reading. I find spiritual challenges and encouragement in my reading.Great question!Kim

    Like

  4. Yes, I think fiction can be used for evangelism, but it can be a tricky process. After all, novels are, first and foremost, entertainment. So how do you slip in the gospel and have it be natural without sounding forced? That’s the $64,000 question. I believe that as Christian authors, we do have a responsibility to say “something” beyond storytelling. I keep reading Christian novels that are only clean stories; they say nothing or very little about faith and about God’s grace in redeeming a life. Those novels, to be honest, annoy me because the author could have done so much more. I guess the best example is Christ Himself. He used stories called “parables” to convey spiritual truths. I think Christian authors can follow His model. The bottom line is that we must do what God compels us to do and not worry about being called “preachy” by some. It’s God’s approval that counts. I’m sure there are effective ways to inject the gospel message into storytelling; I’m certainly no expert, but I’m willing to try.

    Like

  5. Think about C.S .Lewis and the Narnia books ,great fiction…but an unmistakable message of salvation thro’ Christ.Tolkein was also a christian and belonged to the same literary group as Lewis. In the “Lord of the Rings” good triumphs over evil.Hope this is helpful .Jenni

    Like

  6. Hi Mike,I’ve been off-and-on mulling your questions about using fiction as an evangelism tool for the past two days. I believe you meant it when you asked us to be honest and not worry about giving a perfect Christian answer. Thank you for that freedom. Yet, I’m struggling with my thoughts and don’t feel at peace to fully share them.My answer to your question about whether fiction has a place in evangelism is ‘yes.’ I’m feeling conflicted about appropriate writing styles to deliver the message in fiction, and pushing CBA boundaries. Perhaps my inner struggle has more to do with my finding my niche as a Christian writer.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

