Children and Spiritual Gifts


Let’s talk about spiritual gifts for a moment. And let’s talk about them in children. I think adults often overlook the gifts kids have. But if they’ve trusted Christ as Savior, kids have spiritual gifts too, and there’s much we can learn from them.

Take my three daughters, for instance. Our oldest, Laura (9), has the gift of evangelism. She’s got a real way with people, of talking with them, getting to know them, influencing them, and finding open doors to share Christ with them.

Our middle daughter, Abby (8), is blessed with the gift of faith. When Abby prays she just expects God to answer that prayer. There’s no doubting, no questioning, no empty hoping. Her faith is simple: I prayed so God will answer, right? And if the answer doesn’t come right away, she keeps on praying and knowing and expecting.

Finally, our youngest, Caroline (6). Boy, oh, boy, Caroline has got gobs of the gift of helps or service. I’ve never seen a kid so eager to help as her nor so happy when helping. Chores are not chores to Caroline. Yesterday, I was taking the wicker furniture and potted plants off the front porch for winter storage in the garage. It’s quite a little job and it was cold here in PA. Guess who was the first (and only) one who volunteered to help me? Yup, Caroline. She bundled herself up and got right to work, laughing and giggling and smiling the whole time. She loves it.

My point is this: we shouldn’t overlook the presence of gifts in children and we should look for opportunities to allow them to use and develop those gifts (someday I’d love to write a book on this subject). My other point is that there is so much we can learn from watching kids. So often I find myself being the student and my girls the unknowing teachers. But isn’t that the way spiritual gifts should work?

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on November 19, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -When I was growing up, adults felt kids were incapable of understanding spiritual things. When I got older, I challenged this thinking because I remembered my hunger and thirst to know God.Jesus encouraged the little ones to come to Him. Their simple faith and trust are unspoiled by the cynical attitudes of the world.When children are raised in the nurture and admonition of the Lord, they flourish and can minister as effectively as an adult.Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

  2. This article was great. I think kids need to know they have a purpose. How awesome it would have been as a child to know that I had a special gift or talent that would help lead others to Christ or others in the body of Christ.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

