Giving Thanks, Part 2


Moving on with my posts of giving thanks . . .

I’m so thankful for my wife, Jen. She puts up with a lot from me, really she does. She deserves a medal (note to self: or at least some flowers!). There were times during this past nine months that I wasn’t sure I was going to maintain my sanity and she was my rock. Following colon surgery she showed me patience and love that only God our Father could show. Honestly. Without her I doubt I’d be sitting here typing these words. I thank God every day for Jen. And I need to make sure I thank her every day too!

I’m thankful for my three little girls. Say what you want, but I’m surrounded by females (even our black Lab, Josie) . . . and love it! My girls give me such delight and we share so many laughs. I love their hugs and kisses, their unique personalities, their sometimes odd sense of humor, their inquisitive minds, and their loyal love. I’ll never forget being home alone with my oldest when she was three years old. I was on the floor playing a game with her when she stopped, wrapped her arms around me neck, and said, “Daddy, you’re my bestest friend.” Brings tears to my eyes now as I write it. That’s bliss! But I’ve learned so much from my daughters too. They’ve taught me how my heavenly Father looks at me. They’ve taught me what true and simple faith is. And they’ve taught me how to love in very different ways.

I’m thankful for my parents. They raised me right, they really did. They taught me to work hard, be honest, be loyal, and never give up. My mom used to say all the time and it used to drive me crazy: “Where there’s a will there’s a way.” Even now, I’m thirty-six with a family and life of my own, and they are so involved in me and how I’m doing and what I’m struggling with. Their love and sacrifice is humbling and has set a wonderful example for me as a parent.

I’m thankful for my church family, brothers and sisters in Christ who have held us up in prayer, helped us financially, aided us with the mundane chores of life, encouraged us, supported us, and ministered to us in ways beyond belief. God has to be proud of the way His family surrounded one of their own in time of need.

I’m thankful for you, the readers of this blog. You’ve given me purpose, encouragement, perseverance, and an outlet for my roller coaster faith and emotions. Thanks for your patience with me, your prayers, your encouraging words, and for reading my honest posts.

There’s so much more for which to be thankful but I must stop there for the sake of time and my hard drive.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on November 25, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I took this idea of thankfulness to the group I work with at the local women’s rehab group. To go around the room and speak those things for which we are thankful…it was powerful!I encouraged them to tell those for whom they were thankful how much they mean to them. Tell them how thankful they are for those who love them and are helping them in their recovery. Powerful!Today’s post has been a blessing as always. Thank you for blessing me with powerful reminders of God’s love and mercy in all of our lives!Kim

    Like

  2. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -Thank you for allowing us to stand with you. Some folks crawl into a shell and miss out on the caring support of friends and family. I’m glad you chose to reach out.I’m doing a Thanksgiving post tomorrow at my blog, so I won’t clutter up your comment page. :)Blessings,Susan

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

