Some Things I’ve Learned


With this being my final week of chemo I’ve been doing a little reflecting on what I’ve learned during this journey.

Here’s just a few:

Even though it may seem like it at the time, the journey (life) is not about me.

Tell people how you really feel about them while you can. Life is short. A little bit of encouragement, a sincere thank you, a heartfelt “I appreciate you” goes a long way.

Be honest with others, with yourself, and with God. Again, life is short. No sense in hiding things just to save face or put on a tough look. Let your true self show.

No matter how bad you have it, no matter how hard things become, there’s always something to be thankful for.

Time always passes more quickly in the rearview mirror.

That’s a handful for you to chew on a little. One thing I’m finding, though, is as time is trotting on I have to remind myself of these things more and more. It’s so easy to fall back into that same old way of life. I don’t want to be the same person I was before cancer. I’ve learned, I’ve grown, I’ve experienced. I don’t want it all to go to waste because it’s easier being who I’ve always been.

More on this in posts to come.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on December 8, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Amazing heartfelt insight Mike. Thanks heaps for sharing it.

    Like

  2. Marcus Goodyear

    Thanks for sharing these, Mike. I’m personally challenged by the idea to “let your true self show.” Now if I could just figure out which one of these bozos in my head is the true self…

    Like

  3. Mike you shared “It’s so easy to fall back into that same old way of life. I don’t want to be the same person I was before cancer. I’ve learned, I’ve grown, I’ve experienced. I don’t want it all to go to waste because it’s easier being who I’ve always been.”Just wanted to let you know how much I appreciate your posts and the above statement rings so true, going on nearly five years, is is so easy to fall back, but like you I don’t want to waste any of it, it has been a battle I have been waging the last couple of months. The Lord has used Especially Heather and you, to remind and refocus me, to begin to write, to share and to be open, to write again.Thank you my friend,PaulThe Mayor ofStarbucks 🙂

    Like

  4. Great post! So true, it pays to be real. Loved The Hunted by the way. Keep up the awesome work

    Like

  5. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -Perhaps the brevity of life is the ultimate cure for procrastination. My book has been pushed to the back burner for over a month. Your post reminded me I need to get it finished. Thanks.Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

