Chemo . . . Out


It’s finished. De finition. Fertig. Rifinito. Acabado. However you want to say it, in whatever language . . . no more chemo. I took my last pills yesterday. Now it will take a couple weeks to get this poison out of my system and then on to surgery.

Tomorrow I go for a sigmoidoscopy. That’s like a partial colonoscopy but done while you’re awake and the surgeon will do it in his office. My worst fear is that he’ll get that camera up there and I’ll hear, “Uh-oh.” Another tumor found, we have to do everything all over again.

But like a friend told me, “Even if the worst happens, what are you gonna do?”

My answer: “Deal with it. What else can I do?”

This is where my faith is really put to the test. I keep hearing that still small voice in my head saying, “How much do you trust me?”

“I trust you with my life.”

Then give it to me.”

“I’m not sure I want to. I’m afraid of what you’ll do with it.”

Son, do you believe I love you? Do you believe that I’m madly in love with you, that everything I do for you and through you is motivated by my love for you? That I would never, ever, do anything that didn’t scream of my love for you?”

“Yes.”

Do you believe it enough to place your life in my hands and give me control?”

“I do believe . . . help my unbelief.”

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on December 15, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Prayers continuing. Trusting God for your complete recovery, Mike. Your honesty, that prayer to help my unbelief is one I have to utter often when life seems overwhelming. God is so faithful to answer abundantly!Kim

    Like

  2. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -Here I come, skidding into your blog at the end of the day! Whew.Made it.And it was worth the trip. 🙂 Don’t think for one second we’ll stop praying just because you’re done with chemo. You’re stuck with us, friend. :)Blessings,Susan

    Like

  3. I’m praying for you Mike! Jesus is shining on you everyday!

    Like

  4. CONGRATS! Whoo Hoo! I so wanted to get a package out to you before this date, but I’ve been interrupted. I know you understand!I’ll be praying for an “all clear!” And look for something in the mail in the next week!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

