Sigmoid-o-what?


Sigmoidoscopy. Funny word, isn’t it. For those who don’t know, the sigmoid portion of the colon is the lower portion, the funny little curved part right before attaching to the rectum. So a sigmoidoscopy is checking out that portion with a little camera. The procedure is done while you’re awake and is relatively free of discomfort (relatively being the keyword and, of course, everything is relative).

Anyway, that’s what I had done yesterday. The surgeon wanted to check out his handiwork from my last surgery and make sure nothing was growing in there that isn’t supposed to be. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t nervous going into this. The too-small, paper-thin gown didn’t help. The cold gel didn’t help. And leaving the exam room door open for all to see didn’t help (I did eventually ask them to close the door!).

But all went well. The surgeon said things couldn’t look better, and he truly seemed proud of his work. Surgeons.

So I’m ready for surgery #2 in January.

Now, on to other items on the agenda. I know this is going to seem really self-serving and a lot like shameless self-promotion (which it is) but these are tough times and a starving author has to do what he has to do (okay, a little exaggeration). If you are not a subscriber to my newsletter, won’t you please consider subscribing? There’s no strings attached, no waivers to sign, I won’t be calling you right at dinner time every evening, and I promise not to sell your email address to the highest bidder. All you have to do is go to www.mikedellosso.com/newsletter and fill in your name and email address. Every month I’ll send out via email a newsletter updating my life and writing. That’s it. Oh, yeah, and you’ll also get a free short story I wrote exclusively for my newsletter subscribers called “The Last Hunt.”

And if you subscribe before December 20, you’ll get a special Christmas gift. Sweet deal, huh?

Also, if you enjoy this blog and read it regularly, why not show your support by becoming a “follower” (a blogging term for someone who enjoys a blog and reads it regularly . . . no, I won’t ask you to chant after me and drink the yummy red koolaid). You can follow this blog by simply clicking on the “Follow this blog” link in the right hand column. It’s that easy.

Okay, enough of the self-promoting nonsense. Sorry.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on December 17, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Okay Mike…sigmoidoscopy..been there done that…relative IS the key word! ‘Nuff said!And for those not signed up for the newsletter…the short story is AWESOME!! Don’t miss it!!Glad your surgeon is proud of his work and ready to reverse the other stuff back to normal!Woo-hoo!

    Like

  2. I’ve been following the blog and signed up for the newsletter and didn’t need the promo. Both are that good.

    Like

  3. Mike, I’m very happy to hear the results of your Sigmowhodawhatdamy were good. I too was holding you up in prayer yesterday. Aren’t you thankful that God’s intervening grace didn’t end at the cross?

    Like

  4. Hi Mike,I enjoy reading your blog and I wish you all the best on your recovery. My dad was a long time survivor of colon cancer. (He got sick when I was 8 and lived until I was 35! My siblings and I were blessed.) Anyway…have you ever considered changing the colors on your blog? The white on black hurts my eyes. Even after I finish reading it, I can still see white on black. As a result, I only visit every so often. I am prone to migraines and am light sensitive — so maybe I’m just a freak. I’d be curious to know if any other readers have commented on this color choice. However, in the scheme of things, it’s no big deal. Just thought I’d share. Wishing you a Merry Christmas and a wonderful new year.Alison Stone

    Like

  5. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -What great news for Christmas! I’m glad you added the Follower link. Thanks for signing up at my blog. I’ve also joined your newsletter.Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

  6. Yay! Glad to hear the news! And your procedure sounds a lot like what we women go through on a regular basis (minus the sigmo-thingy) especially during child birth. For my first kid (who was 4 1/2 weeks early) I think there were half a dozen interns in the room. I wised up after that birth and had an invitation only policy after that!But seriously, so glad you’re on your way to being you’re old, new self. And I still can’t believe you wrote/edited a whole book in the process. I feel like I’ve done nothing but wait this last year!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

