Two Things About God


Okay, so surgery is about 48 hours away. This is the one where they put me back together again so I can . . . um, function the way the good Lord intended. I tell people I’m a lot excited, a little nervous.

I think anytime you undergo surgery and have to sign that little form that says You could die during this procedure there’s gonna be some anxiety. Also, I hate staying in the hospital. My last stay after my first surgery left a very bad taste in my mouth.

As always, though, God’s Word, those ancient words so alive and relevant today is there to soften the blow and give comfort and strength.

Yesterday morning I awoke and stumbled downstairs to find a note from Jen on my desk: Psalm 62. Our trust is in God alone.

Here’s some excerpts.

My soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation comes from him. He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.

One thing God has spoken, two things have I heard: that you, O God, are strong, and that you, O Lord, are loving.

I needed to read that. O, to have that kind of confidence: I will never be shaken. It comes from a sound knowledge and unwavering belief that if God is anything, He is two things: strong and loving.

I’ll be reminding myself of that often in the upcoming days.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on January 5, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Mighty God, we lift up your son Mike to you. We ask that you grant him peace in his spirit, courage in his heart, and a reliance on you for all things. We ask that you encourage his family, and let them know that you’re surrounding them and him. And we pray for skill and discernment for his doctors, and a successful outcome for his surgery. Let Mike know, Father, that family, friends and strangers are praying for him and his family.

    Like

  2. I stand in agreement with Glynn’s prayer. Where two or three are gathered in the name of our Lord, touching and agreeing upon anything, we shall see what we pray for come to flourishen. Blessings to you during this season in your life.

    Like

  3. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -Mom and I prayed for you this morning that the surgery would go well and that you’d have peace in your heart. His Word comforts us in difficult times. Why not write it down and keep it with you in the hospital?Blessings,Susan šŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Mike – I will be lifting you up in prayer. I look forward to hearing good things!!Thank you for blessing me so much!Kim

    Like

  5. You spoke words, I, too, need to live by. Let God’s strength and love banish the anxiety waiting to attack from within by calling on the name of Jesus. He is faithful!Yeah, I’m convinced hospitals aren’t conducive to rest or healing…that comes at home afterwards. I’ll be praying for you too.

    Like

  6. Praying for you too mate.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

