Recovery


Here’s an update:

It’s been nine days since surgery now and I’m slowly getting my strength and pep back. Yesterday I went a whole day with no percocet. I felt it by the end of the day, though.

My . . . um . . . bowel function is SLOWLY coming around. I’m learning what things I can eat and what things I’ll have to wait on. I was home alone yesterday (Jen and the girls went to the state farm show) and splurged and got myself a couple hot wings. Wrong. “No spicy stuff for a while.” That’s what the nurse said. Dummy. My colon was having a fit last night and letting me know it wasn’t happy at all.

The incision was healing up good but yesterday it opened a little. Yuck. And . . . I think I have another hernia already. I didn’t do anything dumb, I promise. “Take it easy for two weeks,” that’s what the surgeon said. “No lifting over 25 pounds for six weeks.” I’ve been obeying.

I see the surgeon today and will make sure I get some answers.

Oh, and in book news, The Hunted made TheSuspenseZone.com’sReviewers’ Choice” top 10 books of 2008. What an honor.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on January 16, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Hot Wings….hmmmmm….I hope you feel better this morning! :)I hope the doctor can give you some information about the incision too. You take GOOD care of yourself!! I’m still rejoicing that this is in the past!

    Like

  2. Glad you’re healing well, but put the brakes on and follow doctor’s orders for a little while. The end zone is in view! Hang in there.

    Like

  3. Bless you, Mike!!

    Like

  4. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -Great news that you’re off the percocet. I can’t eat hot wings, and I didn’t have surgery. Oooh, not a good idea.Congratulations on being in the Reviewers Choice top 10 books of 2008. Smart people.Blessings,Susan

    Like

  5. Congratulations on being among some great names on the Reviewers’ Choice list, Mike. That’s so awesome!I’m reflecting on the following today and thought you might appreciate the words. “Brothers, as an example of patience in the face of suffering, take the prophets who spoke in the name of the Lord. As you know, we consider blessed those who have persevered. You have heard of Job’s perseverance and have seen what the Lord finally brought about. The Lord is full of compassion and mercy.” James 5:10-11.Psst…I have a chili recipe that might interest you. [insert impish grin here] It’s guaranteed to make your intestines beg for an ice cream chaser.

    Like

  6. Cool deal on Reviewers Choice Top 10 — it belongs there.And we need to talk with Horton about his culinary advice.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

