Handling Tragedy, Part 1


For the next few days I’m going to be writing about how to handle tragedy. As always, my thoughts may be organized, may be random. I’m just pulling from my head, heart, and experience here. Rather than spend a lot of time preparing and researching and so forth I like blogging from the heart, just writing as it pours out of me. I think that’s the best way to get the raw, emotional, honest truth. So here goes . . .

#1. Be honest with yourself and with God when tragedy strikes.

Let’s face it, tragedy isn’t fun (real news flash, huh?). It’s confusing, it hurts, tears flow, fists shake, questions abound. It won’t do you any good to put on a mask and hide how you really feel about it. Look, God gave us emotions, right? He gave us the ability to feel, to hurt, to agonize. He’s not afraid of our emotions. He can handle our questions. He’s big enough to allow us to wrestle with Him and loving enough to not hold it against us.

Be honest with yourself. Examine your own heart and feelings. Give yourself permission to grieve and mourn and hurt . . . to feel. Stuffing your emotions because of some need or pressure to “be strong” won’t do you any good. It’s okay to say “I don’t like this” or “this really stinks”. Because it does. It’s okay to say “I don’t think I can handle this on my own”. Because you can’t.

Be honest with God. Tell Him how you feel. Read the psalms for inspiration and comfort. God is your loving Father and wants to hear you tell Him how you really feel. He longs for that honest, raw fellowship with you. It’s okay to fall into His arms and cry on His chest. He’ll hold you tight–He will. Trust me.

Being honest is the beginning, it’s the foundation, the point from which the rest flows.

Tomorrow I’ll share some thoughts on point #2, have a right perspective.

Now, in other news, my appointment with the surgeon went well Friday. He’s very pleased with how things are progressing and said what I thought was the hernia making an untimely and premature return is nothing more than a fluid pocket that the body will naturally reabsorb. He wanted to leave the staples in another week so I go in this Friday to get those little buggers removed.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on January 19, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. So true. You think it’s OK to get angry? That’s part of getting honest, right? Did you ever shake your fist at God, even for the slightest moment during the worst parts of your cancer?I think it’s ok to say, I’m angry God, but please, help me through it. That’s part of getting honest if you ask me. Great post, looking forward to tomorrow’s.

    Like

  2. Yes, I think anger is a normal part of our emotional response to tragedies and trials. Did I ever get angry? Sure, plenty of times, but I can honestly say I was never angry at God. I accepted early on that cancer is part of living in a cursed world. It wasn’t God’s fault I got cancer. We humans invited sin into the world and now we have to live with the affects. Just because I’m a Christian doesn’t exempt me from living in a sin-cursed world.

    Like

  3. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -Great job on this post, and loved your comment. Right on.I also appreciate your posting method – straight from the heart, what you see is what you get. That’s one reason your blog is so popular – you’re real.Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

