Handling Tragedy, Part 6


This will be the last post on handling tragedy . . . for now, anyway.

#6 Reflect on how the tragedy has changed your life and use it for good.

Tragedy will change you, for better or worse. Unfortunately, for some it instills great bitterness and resentment. Anger, jealousy, hatred, they are all possibilities. Our natural instinct is to fight against suffering, to push back, repel it, lash out against it. But if we see it for what it is: hard, yes; terrible, yes; painful, yes; but an opportunity to make us stronger, it can change us for the better.

When I was first diagnosed I remember telling Jen, “When all this is done we’ll be better people for it and we’ll have experienced something and learned things we can then share with others.”

You know what? That’s exactly what happened. I’m a stronger person for going through this valley. I’ve learned lessons I never would have learned before, experienced things I’d never even imagined. My outlook on life has changed. My attitude toward others has changed. My burden to live life to the fullest has changed. I think I’m a better person because of cancer.

Take time to get away from the immediacy of the tragedy and reflect on what you’ve learned, what you’ve experienced, how you’ve grown, then pray that you’ll have the opportunity to impact others with it. Allow the tragedy to change you. Or rather, allow God to change you through the tragedy.

It’s difficult, I won’t lie to you, but God does want to use tragedy to mold us. If we resist and stiffen, it won’t happen, but if we give in to His will and simply trust Him, He will be able to shape us into a stronger, more faithful, more dedicated, more sensitive person.

And that’s always a good thing.

Now, I noticed yesterday that this blog has reached a milestone: 15,000 visitors. Thank you to each and every one of you who take the time to log on and read my ramblings. I’m so thankful for each of you because you make it all worthwhile.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on January 26, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Good series, Mike. Straight from the heart.

    Like

  2. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -Thanks for an excellent series. One key I noticed in your post: you made a quality decision from the beginning that this challenge would make you better. Trusting the Lord through the hard places brought about growth and blessing.Woohoo! 15,000 visitors! Congratulations. Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

  3. Congrats on the 15k. It’s true, God uses tragedy to mold and shape us. It’s sooo hard to see that WHILE going through the tragedy, but I rest in the peace of knowing God walks beside me through it all. Thanks for this great series.

    Like

  4. I’m going to jump on the bandwagon here and say how much I’ve enjoyed the series, too. Tragedy does make you a stronger person. Perhaps this is wrong to say, but I’ve often wished each and every person could experience a tragedy firsthand to really know what it’s like to cherish not only God’s creation, but also other people. The most giving, caring people I know have faced some of life’s worst tragedies. It truly does shape who you are.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

