Seek Wisdom


Last night we had our monthly elder meeting at church and one of the guys gave a devotional from 1 Kings 3. The passage details the account of when God asked Solomon, “Name whatever you want and I’ll give it to you.”

God was testing Solomon’s integrity. How tempting it would be to ask for money or fame or a long healthy life or the newest, fanciest chariot. (This has given me much thought–honest thought–about what I would ask for.)

But as we know, Solomon asked for wisdom. Here it is in his words:

“Now, O LORD, my God, You have made Your servant king in place of Your servant David. But I am only a little child and do not know how to carry out my duties. Your servant is here among the people You have chosen, a great people, too numerous to count or number. So give Your servant a discerning heart to govern Your people and to distinguish between right and wrong.”

Here’s what it got me thinking about. All of us are leaders in one way or another. I heard somewhere that the definition of a leader is one who is in a position to influence others. That’s all of us, isn’t it? We all influence someone in some capacity, whether at home, work, church, or another area of life.

Here’s a few things that were brought out in the devotional last night. One, in and of ourselves, we are inadequate for any kind of leadership (godly leadership, that is). Two, God is the one who has placed us in a position to influence others. And three, we need His wisdom to justly lead and discern right from wrong.

Here’s what we should do. Humbly recognize that we cannot be an effective leader without God. We didn’t put ourselves there, we won’t keep ourselves there. It’s all about Him. Be honest enough to admit that without godly wisdom we will fail miserably as a leader. And pray for wisdom. Pray for discernment to know right from wrong. Pray for a sensitive heart. Pray for those we are in a position to lead.

Leadership is a grave responsibility. We would all do well to take it seriously and seek wisdom.

Now, I’d like to thank those who comment on this blog. This isn’t all about me and my words, you know. So many of you have great insight to offer and I’m so blessed when you do offer it. I read your comments and say, “Wow, I never thought of it that way,” or “Oh, that makes a lot of sense.”

Please, please, please feel free to offer a comment. Share your knowledge or insight or experience. It will help us all.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on February 11, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Your encouragement to those who comment here actually has a lot to do with your discussion on leadership. One of the things a leader does is to foster an environment that encourages people to see possibilities, take some risks, think in different ways, try a few things that haven’t been done before, hear sound counsel and apply it, and learn to trust.Sounds like a definition of the “Wide-Eyed Fiction” blog.

    Like

  2. It is so funny that this was the devotional topic at that meeting. Yesterday morning, my devotion topic was “obtaining Wisdom from the Lord.” Right now I am in the midst of a situation where I must have wisdom even to know how to pray. I know it sounds silly but this has been my prayer – for God to grant me wisdom – since I was a child of 8 years old. The story of Solomon was one of my favorites and I prayed that prayer (I remember praying it kneeling next to my bed after reading the story). And I keep right on praying that God would give me more so I will make the right decisions and will influence the people I need to with integrity. And He always does. Thanks for this post.

    Like

  3. Mike, I never cease to wonder at God’s timing. During my devotion this morning all I knew to ask God for was wisdom. There are so many things in my life that I simply have no answers for right now. I am seeking direction in my own life and on behalf of a loved one (asking God to reveal His plan to someone I care for). Sometimes I simply don’t know what to do…and all I can do is cry out to God for wisdom, for discernment to understand what I am to do.His is so faithful to direct our path. I praise Him for that! And until I do understand the answers, I’m going to keep asking for His wisdom every single day!

    Like

  4. Mike, thank you for your post. Your words make me think and brought some things into focus. Thank you.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

