Listening For God


On February 9th I wrote a post called “That Kind of Obedience” that is getting some attention. In the comments on the post the issue of hearing God’s voice came up.

One commenter said: “Darn it, if I saw miracle bushes and heard booming voices, I could have that kind of faith too. Maybe I’m just blind and deaf to God’s advances?”

And another added: “I think most of the time we are not sure if we are hearing the voice of God, or the remnants of a dozen TV ads we saw and heard before we went to bed last night. Somehow I have the idea that Abraham never suffered from information overload.”

This got me thinking. Why do we not hear God’s voice as clearly as those old guys did? Is it a matter of God not speaking to people that way anymore? Or is the problem on our end? Do we not hear God’s voice because we’re not listening? We’re just too busy. Or is it a matter of not being able to hear God’s voice above the noise and clutter of our life? Do cell phones and radios and Ipods and TVs drown out the still small voice of our Lord?

Things to think about, for sure.

I think we 21st century citizens of the most productive nation on earth have lost the art of just being still. There’s always something to do, someone to meet, someplace to go. Who has time to sit and be quiet and listen for The Voice?

And yet we complain when we don’t hear His voice.

Here’s a challenge: find time this week to just be; get alone with no distractions (even if it means climbing in your closet and shutting the door) and listen. Be quiet and listen. I have a feeling you’ll be amazed at what you hear.

* * *
I’ve reached another milestone with this blog. This post is number 500!
About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on March 3, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -Congratulations on Post #500! My theory: The Dilution Factor. We add too much to our lives, resulting in less time for contemplation of God’s Word and prayer.That’s my 2 cents for today.Blessings,Susan šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Lisa Buffaloe

    Today at Bible study a friend of mine confessed she spends time with God but usually doesn’t stop talking long enough to hear His voice. :)Most times, I’m guilty of the same thing. But those wonderful moments when I actually spend time in His word, waiting to learn His truths, straining my soul’s ears to hear His voice, then, in the quiet, my heartstrings are tugged by His Spirit wooing me to deeper communion and exploration of His truth and love. “My heart has heard you say, ‘Come and talk with me.’ And my heart responds, ‘Lord, I am coming.'” (Psalm 27:8 NLT)

    Like

  3. Hearing the voice of God…Recently I’ve been working on Memorizing John chapter 15, it has been taking me a while but it has been profitable. Jesus said, “if you abide in me and my words abide in you, you shall ask what you desire, and it shall be done for you”. I believe that hearing God is a matter of having God’s word abide in you. For example, I really got hooked on a particular TV series. It is the only TV I watch. I realized that i was waking up in the morning thinking about this program and it was drawing my heart away from God. As I lay on my bed I said, God help me with this. He answered, “If your right hand offend you cut it off, if your eye offend you pluck it out…” God spoke loud and clear from His word to my heart. STOP, enough. In John 15 Jesus said, “you are my friends if you do whatever I command you.”I want to be a friend of Jesus.

    Like

  4. So true. So true. I don’t hear His voice, but do I shut up long enough to listen? Thanks for this, sure hits home!

    Like

  5. A-men Mike!! I had a conversation about this very thing with my aunt this morning!! I think we ARE too busy, too noisy, too overwhelmed with the cares of this world to hear God. That’s a sad state of affairs to be sure. Getting quiet and still before God alone is the only remedy.Great challenge! May it be so for all of us who hunger for God’s direction in our life!A-men!

    Like

  6. Congratulations on the 500th post.Good advice here, as always.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

