One Hectic Day


It’s Sunday night and I’m way ready for bed so excuse me please if this post seems a little random. Right, now my thoughts are random, at best.

5K run. Some thoughts. Cold. Almost 800 runners. Beautiful course. I wanted to leave everything I had on the course and I did; I ran a personal best 24:11 minutes and placed 78th out of 786 runners (for all results see http://www.runtheday.com/newresults/raceresults.php). I got blown away by some kid who looked like he was no more than 13 or 14. The free pretzels afterward were delicious–and not just because they were free.

Due to Jen’s talkative ways and outgoing personality, we’re going to be featured in a story the Philly Fox affiliate is airing next Sunday evening about the Rocky statue by the art museum and how it relates to my battle with colon cancer. Cue Rocky music now.

Question, what kind of nut runs a 5K then spends the next four hours walking the streets of Philly? Answer, the kind with swollen feet, stiff legs, aching back, writing his blog at 11:00 at night, the night before he starts his new job. It was worth it, though. We showed the girls Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, Betsy Ross’s house, and dozens of blocks of one of the largest cities in the country. Seeing our girls engaged in history and excited about it is priceless and well worth a couple swollen feet.

Note, driving in downtown Philly is hazardous to a country bumpkin’s health. I almost got run over by a city bus muscling his way into my lane. I got honked at for at least five full seconds for having the nerve to let someone turn left across traffic. My whole driving experience there was one of controlled chaos. If not for Jen’s navigation, I’d still be wandering around the maze of one-way streets.

Another question, why does it always take longer coming home than it did getting there? It took us about two hours to get to Philly, and five hours to come home. Now, granted, at one point it too us an hour to go 5 miles on US 95 and we took some back roads we thought would save time and, well, you know how that goes. Ahhh.

So there it is, our day in a nutshell, from the mind of a nut. Maybe I’ll write more about things on a personal level Wednesday. Some lessons learned, thoughts pondered, that sort of thing. My mind will be more clear then.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on March 22, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -You sure had a busy, but good, weekend. How exciting they’re doing a story on you! Great publicity for the book if you were able to mention it.Gotta run. Work. :)Blessings,Susan

    Like

  2. Just catching up this morning….WOW!! I’m so happy for you all! What a blessed trip!And that is TOO CREEPY about the Beast of Bladenboro story!

    Like

  3. Congrats on the run! Awesome. Keep up the good work. 🙂

    Like

  4. Crazy, but fun day for you! I remember taking my kids to Philly a couple of years back. High of the trip. Fried egg sandwiches at the street vendors. Tomorrow is my crazy day. 10 extracurricular activities divided by 4 kids and two of my own activities…plus homeschooling on the go! Fun! And actually quite productive in the schooling department!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

