Running and History Lessons


I’ve had two days of my new job thus far and am feeling totally overwhelmed and totally incompetent. I know, I know, everyone feels that way when starting a new job. This company is much larger than my previous employer and does things totally different on so many levels. I have so much to learn . . .

Anyway, about this past weekend. Someone asked, “How did it feel running the 5K?”

My answer: “Tiring.”

Seriously, how it felt AFTER the race is the point. It felt great. It felt like I grabbed this cancer by the collar, held it’s ugly face inches from my own, and snarled, “You think you could put me down? Well, here I am.”

Talk about momentous accomplishments. Just two and half weeks ago I was laying in a hospital bed with a rubber hose up my nose not sure what I’d be doing now. Not sure I’d be walking the 5K let alone running it. Maybe crawling it, but even that would have been a long shot. And it was a little extra something to run my personal best. That was the icing on this wonderful cake.

But you know what? Just as memorable was walking downtown Philly with my family, taking our girls to see the birthplace of this grand country, watching their faces as they looked on the very room where so many great men stood and sat and argued and debated and finally, yes, oh, yes, finally put their names on that Declaration of Independence, knowing they were committing treason and putting their lives on the line. Putting it all on the line.

When I asked the girls what their favorite part of the weekend was, our oldest said Independence Hall, our youngest said Betsy Ross’s house, and our middle said, “I loved it all!” Can’t beat that.

For three little girls it was a weekend where their daddy showed them the stuff of heroes, they saw history come alive, and they were proud to be Americans.

If you can do it, if you’re ever on the east coast or if you live on the east coast, please take the time to visit Philadelphia and the historic sites there. People from all over the world come to see it . . . every American should see it too. It will remind you why we fight to protect what we have and what no other nation on earth has.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on March 24, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. What a wonderful follow-up to your 5k/Philly trip post! I am so incredibly happy for your family! For you!! Sounds like God just gave you all a big hug!!

    Like

  2. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -One thing that stood out in your post is your comment on achieving your personal best. My competition isn’t the guy or gal next to me. Doing my best and exceeding my previous performance is my goal. Like you, I know that is only possible when I’m depending on the Lord for strength, courage, and wisdom.Thanks for the inspiring post.Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

