Looking for Learning


One of my professors in college once told me if I ever get the opportunity to learn something for free, take it. Free education is something you never want to say no to.

Well, as life goes on I’m learning that LIFE is an education. Some would argue whether it’s free or not because you certainly “pay” in many ways, but as far as tuition goes it’s free as a jackrabbit.

Yesterday, these verses were brought to my attention.

“Show me Your ways, O LORD; Teach me Your paths.
Lead me in Your truth and teach me . . .” (Psalm 25:4-5a)

Show me Your ways . . .

Teach me Your paths . . .

Lead me in Your truth . . .

Teach me . . .

If there was ever any question about whether David had a teachable spirit, these four phrases should settle the matter. Learning experiences are all around us. God is constantly offering an education . . . if we’re willing to pay attention and learn.

How often have you heard someone complain that they don’t know what God wants of them, or they don’t know God’s will, or His direction for their life? I don’t want to simplify things because finding God’s will and following it are often difficult things to discern but really, He does show us His will every day, His guiding had is upon us every minute, His truth is all around us.

Maybe, in those moments and circumstances when we feel lost and confused and just downright dumb, it’s because we’ve lost that teachable spirit. I don’t know, but it’s a thought. Something to ponder.

I want to be teachable. I want to walk each day with a mind and heart open to God’s instruction. I want to be aware of my surroundings and the goings-0n all around me and look for opportunities to learn those lessons God intends for me to learn. How about you?

* * *
Hey, there’s a new blog on the block I’d like you to check out. Faith, Fiction, Friends is a blog kept by a brother in the Lord, fellow writer, and frequenter of this blog, Glynn Young. He has some interesting insights to offer. Check it out.
About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on March 30, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love teachable moments. I hope that I’m passing along to my children that same love of learning – both academic and spiritual.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

