Doctor’s Report


The oncology appointment went very well yesterday. I had some blood work done first, then saw the doctor. Because they do the lab work right there in the office I can find out the results of the blood work the same day it’s done . . . but I had to wait until the very end of the appointment. Talk about suspense.

Anyway, everything came back looking great. The cancer marker they look for, something called CEA (don’t ask me what it stands for), was 0.4. 0-5.0 is normal range so the oncologist was just giddy over my low number. Cancer cells reproduce very rapidly and CEA levels in the blood increase as a result of rapidly dividing cells in the body. So if the number is elevated, it means somewhere cells are reproducing like rabbits. A good indicator that cancer has set up house somewhere. So 0.4 is about as good as it gets. Praise God.

I was also told the port in my chest can finally be removed. Surgery is scheduled for May 12. This port is the last remnant of anything having to do with cancer. Once it’s gone all I have left are the scars (physically and emotionally).

This is interesting: As for my questions . . . and the doctor’s responses . . .

My sudden allergy to cashews (since chemo)–never heard of chemo causing allergies but it doesn’t mean it can’t happen.

My continued sensitivity to sun and burning easily–chemo ended five months ago so it is out of my system but, again, doesn’t mean it can’t be a hold-over side effect.

My numb fingers and feet–textbooks say it always resolves, sometimes taking up to a year, but clinically sometimes it never fully resolves.

My port?–outta here!

Now that I’ve had cancer and chemo, is my life expectancy going to be shortened?–No. No. No. Once I make it past that magic five year mark and am officially declared cancer free it’s as if I never had it in the first place (except for the scars).

So there you go. You now know as much as I do. I’m rejoicing and praising God for the good report.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on April 30, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Great news, Mike.

    Like

  2. Rejoicing with you! Now you can enjoy your success with Scream without any distractions!

    Like

  3. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -I’m so thrilled for you and your family. May the Lord bless you with many healthy years. May you see your daughters grow up and and fulfill their God-given destiny. May you be surrounded by grandchildren. May you and Jen grow old together. May His face shine upon you and His peace be your trademark.Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

  4. Mike, Rejoicing with you and continuing to pray for positive news in the future.

    Like

  5. Praising God with you and your family!!! You remain in my prayers.

    Like

  6. Wow! The report couldn’t have been any better than that. Praise God! Rejoicing with you.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

