Excuses, Excuses


It’s our turn to teach Children’s Church again at church. Usually we’re on for four weeks, off for eight. And this time around I’m teaching on the life of Moses, picking up where he murders the Egyptian, buries the body in the sand, learns his fit of rage did not go unnoticed, and flees to the desert where he settles down in the land of Midian (I’ll tell you, this is the stuff of great storytelling . . . and it’s true!).

After 40 years of playing shepherd in the desert Moses is finally confronted by God in the form of a burning bush. Now this is where the story gets really interesting . . . and personal.

I’ve never murdered anyone and tried to hide the evidence (though I have sinned and tried to cover it up). I’ve never been an outlaw on the run (though I have tried to run from my mistakes and get as far away from my sin as possible). And I’ve never shepherded in the desert (though I have had some pretty stretching assignments from God).

But what Moses does next is something I can relate to, something I’ve done often enough that I have it pretty well rehearsed.

God tells Moses that He’s heard the cry of the Hebrews enslaved in Egypt and is going to set them free. Using Moses. He’s gonna be the point man, the go-to guy. And what does Moses do? Say, “Here am I, Lord, send me.” Say, “Speak, Lord, for your servant is listening.” Say, “Lead, Lord, and I will follow, even to the death.”

I don’t think so.

He does exactly what I’ve done on more occasions than I care to admit. He comes up with all kinds of excuses. What if they ask me questions I can’t answer. What if they call me a liar. What if I make a fool of myself. I’m a nobody. I can’t speak well.

I’m NOT the man for the job.

And after each excuse God reassures Moses that’s he’s the man and God will take care of the details.

You’ve heard this before, God isn’t looking for ability, He’s looking for availability. When God calls you to do something, He doesn’t care about your intelligence or your talents or your big bank balance. He doesn’t care if you’ve got friends in lofty places or fancy letters behind your name. He only cares that your willing.

I won’t beat this thing. You get the point. Be available. Be willing. Be committed.

And let God do the rest.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on May 4, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. A friend once told me that 99 percent of evangelism is just showing up. He scandalized a lot of experts when he said that, but I think he was exactly right. Just show up — and God takes it from there.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

