Fat Guy Behind the Curtain


Last night I did a conference call with a ladies book group in Maryland who read and discussed Scream. I did one with the same group last year after they had read The Hunted. I always enjoy these type of things because it gives me an opportunity to hear the thoughts and questions someone had while reading my book. It’s an invaluable experience.

Questions that always tickle me, though, is when someone asks what happens with a character after the story is over or after the character’s role in the story ceases. I feel so terrible telling them I really have no idea. He or she is not a real person. I think in some way a bubble is burst. That whole Wizard of Oz syndrome.

The reader gets so engrossed in the story and the characters seem so real they assume the characters must live on after the final page. They come to me looking for answers, for hope, for information, and all they get is a little fat guy pushing buttons and pulling levers behind a curtain. How disappointing it must be.

I suppose I could always just make something up, though. Isn’t that what story-telling is all about?

OK, praise and prayer time. My prayer request is for next Tuesday when I have my port removed, that the surgery would go well, there would be no complications, and the recovery pain would be at a minimum since I’ll be going back to work the next the day.

My praise is for my wife, the mother of my children. She’s wonderful. She’s a blessing. She’s a fantastic mommy. She’s a Godsend. My girls love their mommy and that means everything to me. Any woman who would give up hours of could-be free time to homeschool her three daughters is a gem. And she doesn’t just homeschool them, she connects with them, she takes it very seriously and invests A LOT of her time in the lives of our girls.

Now it’s your turn. Share, please.

And for all the mommy’s out there: HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!!

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on May 8, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Awww – your wife sounds lovely!!

    Like

  2. My praise, too, is for my wife. We’ve been married almost 36 years, and it’s still like the first time I set eyes on her. (We both worked for the college newspaper; I was the managing editor and she was one of my reporters. She came in the office, introduced herself, and asked if I had any stories for her to do. I did — it turned out to be our story.)My prayer is for the people who work for me. It was a bad, awful, rotten week at work, and largely because my people do their work too well.

    Like

  3. Hey Mike!My immediate praise is that for some reason the fire wall that has kept me from blogging and commenting is down! I can connect again – FINALLY!My prayer request is for my aunt as she reaches the final stages of her illness and my mom as she helps to care for her. God has richly blessed this entire situation, and I praise Him for His grace!Also, I want to Praise the Lord for the encouragement of friends and the prayers of others…without it, I don’t know where I’d be!

    Like

  4. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -I don’t know what kind of port you have, but when my hubby had his out, he said it was no biggy. I pray that holds true for you also. After all you’ve been through, I have a sneaking suspicion this will be a piece of cake.With Mother’s Day coming up tomorrow, I’m thankful that I still have my Mom. She’s my biggest fan, and always there for me.Prayer request: My co-worker will be out next Friday and the following Monday and Tuesday. I’ll be taking over parts of her job and doing my own. Please pray that I remember everything, stay calm, and that I’ll be a blessing to my boss.Thanks,Susan 🙂

    Like

  5. Angela Foltz

    Hey Mike,Praise, my little guy turned awhile back and is still head down. Thanks for praying.Prayer request that birth goes smoothly and isn’t overdue. ;)Miss you guys.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

