Missing Time


Surgery went well yesterday and I am now port-less. Things are a little sore but nothing that isn’t manageable. It’s funny, though, what anesthesia does to you. They tell me they put in “twilight” which means you’re really not asleep but afterwards you think you were.

After the procedure and you “wake up” you feel like you’re fully awake and coherent and lucid, but hours later you have no memory of anything.

Jen said that on the way home from the hospital I asked her the same question or made the same comment several times. I have no recollection of any of that or of anything I said. She tells me all this stuff I said in the recovery room, people I talked to, faces I made. I have no recollection of any of it. I don’t remember changing back into my clothes though Jen said I almost fell over. I don’t remember Jen calling my parents from the car. I know we stopped at a gas station and I pumped gas but I have no memory of it. Weird.

Hey, maybe I was abducted by aliens. Isn’t that one of the signs, missing time?

Whatever the case was, it’s over and the port is history.

Now I focus on some exciting things coming up: I’m starting a new book; I’m training for another 5k for colon cancer in Harrisburg, PA June 13; I have a booksigning at our local Walden’s June 20; and Jen and I are leading a Fireproof Bible study at our church starting next Wed.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on May 13, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Good news, Mike. And perhaps that memory-less experience might become another book one day.

    Like

  2. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -I’m glad the surgery went well. Strange how anesthesia can affect you. After surgery, a friend called another friend, talked to her, and has no memory of it.Like Glynn said, this might be an interesting experience in a book.Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

  3. Continuing to Praise GOD for your recovery! Glad this final piece of the experience is behind you! And I can’t WAIT to read the next book!! :)Rejoicing with you!

    Like

  4. Susan Sleeman

    Praise God for the success of the surgery. I can imagine how happy you are to have that port gone.

    Like

  5. Lisa Buffaloe

    Yay! Congratulations on being port free. Enjoy your freedom!I’m praying for you!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

