Relaxing and Remembering


Just getting off a long weekend celebrating my birthday and our anniversary. We spent Friday and Saturday at my uncle’s second home in Secretary, MD. That’s on Maryland’s eastern shore, a beautiful and peaceful place. Saturday we relaxed the day away at Bethany Beach in Delaware and enjoyed the near perfect weather.

Then Sunday we went to a minor league baseball game here in York, PA. It was Cancer Survivor day. Before the game they had all the cancer survivors (about 500 or so in attendance) walk around the field in a “Parade of Survivors.” I did this last year and both times now have proved to be very moving. Like silt gets disturbed on the bottom of a creek, all kinds of feelings and emotions are stirred when I walk with so many other cancer survivors.

It’s funny because you think you’re getting over things, putting all that behind you and moving on with life, and in a way you are. But then something like this happens and suddenly it’s all right there again, so fresh, so vivid, the smells, the feelings, the emotions, the discomfort, the pain . . . the fear. Makes me question whether I’d do it again next year.

Anyway, on to book stuff. For those of you living in the Hanover, PA area, I’ll be doing a book signing at the Waldenbooks in the North Hanover Mall Saturday, June 20, 1:00-3:00. Even if you’ve already got a copy of both my books, come on out and see me and say “Hi.” I’d love to chat with you and it will spare me from having to sit there and look awkward. And hey, it’s right before Father’s Day . . . hint, hint you last-minute shoppers.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on June 8, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I don't think of you as a cancer survivor, Mike. I look at what you've written on this blog, and all of what you went through, and as bad as it was at so many times, I see some extraordinary courage and some extraordinary support from your family. It's not the "what" that matters — but how you respond to the "what." You're not a survivor; you're a victor.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

