How It’s Going . . .


Well, I’m about 41,000 words into my novel, Darlington, with about 26 days to go for my self-appointed first draft deadline (Aug. 20). That’s a little over 1,000 words a day. So far I’ve been able to keep that pace up by writing both late at night and in the early morning. I have to admit, though, the writing at night is tough. I write for about five minutes then doze off, write, doze, write, doze, and so on for a good hour. But somehow I’ve been able to keep my train of thought and put out some pretty intense scenes. In fact, I just got done writing a scene that is very intense and I’ll have to deliberate with my editor on whether it fits neatly into place or not.

Also, I’m trying something new with this novel, a technique for speeding things up and keeping the story racing along. I’m . . . ha! you thought I was going to tell you, didn’t you. You’ll have to wait for the book to be published to find out what it is. I know, that’s terrible, but suspense is what it’s all about, right?

Oh, one more thing, I just got an idea this morning to add scenes from a certain character’s point of view. This will help develop that character a little better and should up the ante when it comes time for the climax.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on July 24, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Hang in there, Mike. You're making good progress. We'll pray that you keep your eyes open. 🙂

    Like

  2. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Yay, Mike! You're doing great! I can't wait to find out your new system for moving things along. Book 2 is floating around my head, but I've only written a few pages. That little editor fellow on my shoulder keeps interrupting my train of thought.Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

  3. I can't wait to read Darlington!

    Like

  4. C.J. Darlington

    Well, of course you know I'm itching to read a book with my last name as the title! 🙂 I just recently drove through the town of Darlington, MD which is I believe the town in which your story takes place?

    Like

  5. Mike, it sounds like you're making excellent progress. I'm a morning person so the idea of working late at night would be really challenging. I'm looking forward to reading your book and I'm intrigued by the title.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

