Writing, Emotions, and Other Stuff


Okay, so here’s the thing, I have a novel to write in 10 weeks. The deadline is September 1 and I started June 20. (I started before that but it took me a couple tries to get on the right track). So what to do? Novels take time to write, to develop, to unfold. Storylines are complex, as are characters. How do I write a compelling story that keeps moving forward with interesting characters in 10 weeks?

Well, I think I’ve come up with a plan, a tactical strategy, if you will. Only thing is, I don’t want to reveal it just yet. No putting the cart before the horse here. Once I’m finished and the manuscript is approved by my editor, then I’ll reveal my technique.

Another thing, I’ve recently figured out why I had such a hard time getting back into writing and establishing my “writing legs” again. Cancer is emotionally taxing. Coming off my year-long battle I was emotionally spent and writing is an emotional process. I had nothing left over for writing. I’m discovering now that by writing, though, I’m able to work through some of those issues. But it’s also emotionally tiring.

Case in point. Last night I wrote a particularly emotional scene and when I was finished I literally felt spent. Headache, fatigue, even my voice was hoarse. The whole nine yards. Weird. I think my emotional stores are low and it’s easy to deplete them.

But I’m on course to complete the novel by deadline. As of last night I’ve completed 53,000 words.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on July 30, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I'm in awe of you, but I suppose it's God that's gotten you through so far, and it will be God who helps you complete this task.I've never dealt with cancer, but I've had some rough patches with health. A long time ago, a singer who had stopped at my church while traveling, gave me a word from God that I've never forgotten. She was missing an arm, but God had told her that she had to perform, despite her physical problems.Writing is emotionally taxing to anyone. We all have to do what we have to do, though.

    Like

  2. Mike, the act of creation is taxing, draining, exhausting. Even God rested after his.We're praying for you,your work and your family.

    Like

  3. Hi Mike!It's good to hear you are doing well on all levels. I've found it's when I'm the most emotionally vulnerable that I feel God's presence (His strength) permeating my life in new ways.

    Like

  4. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -I'm praying for your continued strength and the grace to write this book. Any physical illness requires a huge expenditure of strength. It will get better.Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

  5. Praying for you, Mike. You have a great story in there waiting to burst forth! You can do it!!!

    Like

  6. ML in Chicagoland

    Mike,Just wanted to know I prayed for you today. Sept 1 has come and gone but I still check to see if you've posted anything.Pray the editing and through-the-publisher steps are going well.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

