Another Hospital Stay


Well, I had another brief layover in the hospital. Tuesday morning I awoke feeling normal as usual. After breakfast the abdominal cramps began, coming in waves and progressively increasing in intensity. I knew right away what it was . . . another small bowel obstruction (I had one in March which landed me in the hospital for four days).

Wishfully thinking, I went to work, hoping the obstruction would resolve itself and I would be fine. Wishful thinking. Halfway through the day the cramps were so bad I couldn’t stand up straight. I went home and told Jen we had to go to the hospital. The girls (who are homeschooled) immediately got anxious.

“Daddy has to go to the hospital again?”

“Is your cancer back, daddy?”

I assured them I was going to be okay and off we went. After five hours in the ER I finally got some pain medication which helped tremendously. Then I got the word, yes it was a bowel obstruction (duh!) and yes I would need an nasogastric tube placed to decompress the bowel (in layman’s terms, that’s up your nose with a rubber hose to pump your stomach).

The good news was, I was only in for less than 48 hours this time. The bad news, that nasogastric tube is akin to some barbaric torture used to extract information out of a mortal enemy.

I meet with the surgeon today to discuss options on how to proceed from here. Since it’s happened two times now (it’s caused by scar tissue in my abdomen from my previous surgeries) the chances of it repeatedly happening are very good. There is the possibility of laproscopic surgery to cut away the scar tissue in there but as the surgeon said before, “Your curing a problem caused by surgery by doing another surgery.” Hmmm.

Anyway, I’m home now and feeling much better and really, really hoping and praying this doesn’t happen again.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on October 23, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. We'll be praying, Mike. For you and Caroline (and the rest of your family). It's got to feel like a rain cloud following you around.

    Like

  2. Will be praying for you – sure doesn't sound fun, but glad you didn't have to stay

    Like

  3. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hi Mike -Oh, that sounds awful! We'll be praying for you and your daughter.Blessings,Susan

    Like

  4. It's been awhile since I've been over here but I've followed your success and just wanted you to know I am reading Scream and love it! Glad I finally got a copy:) Praying you stay feeling better!

    Like

  5. Yikes! We'll be praying it doesn't happen again, too! Keep us posted. Now we know exactly what to have Joshua pray for you about. 🙂

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

