My Achey Breaky Bowels


It’s no secret I have bowel issues. Things happen when you have part of your colon removed and your small intestine cut in half and sewed back together again. Not exactly what God intended to happen. The body does it’s job and forms adhesions to hold everything in place again but those adhesions can then wreak havoc on the functioning of the bowel.

My problem now is with the small intestine. For those who don’t know what a “small bowel obstruction” is, let me explain it how the surgeon explained it to me. You know how when you turn on your garden hose sometimes there’s a kink in it and won’t let the water out? That’s an obstruction. Except with the small intestine that kink is caused by adhesions, or scar tissue. The intestine kinks and nothing is getting through. This can be very painful because the body is pretty insistent about stuff getting through and won’t take no for an answer.

So back to the garden hose analogy. If you turn the water off, the hose slowly unkinks, ever notice that? The way they treat an obstruction is the same way. Turn the water off. A nasogastric tube is placed to pump the stomach of its contents and the order is given for no food or fluid (by mouth) until things unkink. As the bowel rests it slowly unkinks.

That’s it in a nutshell, in layman’s terms.

The treatment is tricky. One way to treat it is just to keep doing what we’re doing, let things rest and the intestine will unkink itself. Another way to treat it is with surgery. Go in and clean out the adhesions. Problem is, as my surgeon put it, you’re solving a problem caused by surgery . . . by doing another surgery. Doesn’t always have the desired outcomes.

So here’s the plan for me. We’re gonna wait and see what happens. This may never happen again or it may happen again next month. My surgeon said if it keeps happening regularly (that is, two or so times a year) then we’ll talk about surgery. He isn’t excited about the surgery because you can only do so much laproscopically. Because the small intestine is so convoluted the only way to get all the adhesions is to open me up and disect the small intestine out taking it inch by inch and removing the adhesions. He says it’s no big deal as far as surgeries go . . . but it sounds like a big deal to me!!

I’m not excited about waiting and seeing what happens. That tube up your nose is like something the Nazis would have devised as a method of torture. Something truly to be feared.

Oh, I know God is in control but (and I hope this doesn’t sound blasphemous) knowing that doesn’t help much when that tube is so far up your nose you’re gagging on it and all the while the nurse is telling you so swallow it. I just want all this cancer stuff behind me . . . go away and leave me alone. But it doesn’t seem like that’s going to happen soon . . . if ever.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on October 27, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. My heart hurts for you:( I so would not want to live with what you are living with, Your words today make me sit up and notice more what my life is and not complain. Blessings!

    Like

  2. Sorry, my friend! This totally sucks and I don't think God's afraid of our honest, raw emotions. He's God. He can handle it! Emot away!

    Like

  3. Mike – I continue to hold you up in prayers. This is tough, and…well…it's just tough.

    Like

  4. I'm so sorry to hear of these continued difficulties. My mom is facing similar issues but for another reason; she had an intestinal biopsy to see if she needed to be on the gluten-free diet. Well, the doctor perforated her intestine, which demanded intensive surgery, a very long hospital stay, and continued diet problems at home. This has all worsened her irritable bowel situation, and what she tells me sounds similar to your symptoms. I've seen these problems up close and personal because of my mom. I'm praying for her recovery and will be praying for yours as well. Remember that God's strength is made perfect through our weakness. He has a purpose and lessons for you to learn through the experience. I'm sure this is nothing you don't already know, but I know I personally need good friends to repeat these truths back to me to help me keep the right perspective. Hang in there!

    Like

  5. We don't know each other, but I am praying for you!

    Like

  6. I'm so sorry for all that you're going through. Yes, God is in control, but that doesn't make the pain any less. I've been praying for you for quite some time as I've followed your blog. Know that I continue to pray for your heart to be encouraged, for grace for each day, for supernatural wisdom for the doctors who must decide how to treat you. God bless you.

    Like

  7. Susan J. Reinhardt

    Hey Mike -You're back on the email update prayer list. I've also put Caroline on there.Sometimes the cure creates other problems. I'll pray that small intestine simmers down.Blessings,Susan

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

