Writing and Spiritual Warfare . . . My Conclusion


First of all, I want to thank everyone who commented on my last post, whether here on Blogger or on Facebook or via email. I appreciated all your insightful words more than you know.

The past couple days I’ve been thinking A LOT and praying A LOT about this topic of writing and spiritual warfare and here is my conclusion to the matter (as it applies in my situation).

One, a little self-examination was in order first. Am I writing the stories God wants me to write? Am I spreading the message God wants me to share? I honestly feel like the answer to both is “yes.” I can’t tell you how many emails I’ve received from readers thanking me for the books I’ve written and the themes of the stories, how their life has been touched or eyes have been opened, how they’ve been encouraged or uplifted. I can’t ignore that kind of response.

Two, if I truly feel I’m folloing God’s leading with my writing then if (IF) my family is being attacked spiritually because of it, it can only be for righteousness’ sake and it can only be because God is allowing it. So, if (IF) that is the case, we have a decision to make, stay on course doing what God wants me to do and stand firm against the attacks of the evil one, or stop doing what I’m doing out of fear. Um, for me, that’s a no-brainer.

Three, notice the capital “if” in the previous point? That was done to make a point. Often, we’ll never know what’s behind our suffering. One woman reminded me of Deut. 29:29 where it says the secret things belong the LORD our God, but the things revealed belong to us and our families forever. We can speculate and hypothesize and whatever else, but we’ll never know the source of most of our suffering (although we do know the source of all suffering is sin . . . we live in a fallen world!) I think we has humans want, maybe need, something to point the finger at when trials hit. Something to which we can say, “There, that’s the cause of our problem.” And Satan and his minions are an easy target, a convenient scapegoat. “It must be the devil.” Look, I’m not one to find a demon lurking around every corner or give Satan credit too quickly. Sometimes, suffering happens just because it happens, because way back when we invited sin into the world and now we have to live with the consequences.

Four, okay, so where do we go from here? Well, as I see it, we believers have two main responsibilities, obey God and be faithful to Him. We are to be obedient to God’s calling and will for our lives and we are to remain faithful to Him no matter what happens and what life throws at us. Everything else is just details and more times than not, details we have no business worrying about.

I’ve always been one to focus on what we know, those things revealed. I’m not into getting involved in deep theological debates about things we’ll never really know this side of heaven. What is our responsibility in the here and now? So for me, I’m choosing to focus on obeying God and his calling on my life and remaining faithful to him. Whatever the source of suffering is (unless it’s due to some unconfessed sin in my life, in which case I need to deal with it) I choose to leave that in God’s hands as one of those secret things that belong to him.

Again, thank you for all your comments (and please keep them coming). You have no idea how much they helped.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on November 4, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. A-MEN, brother!!Looking forward to reading your work for a long time, Lord wiling!!Kim

    Like

  2. Amen. I love the way you think. And write.

    Like

  3. Well I to but I think the post should have more info then it has.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

