Reality’s Slap


There are a lot of rewarding things about working in the field of physical therapy (my job that pays the bills) and a lot more rewarding things about doing it in someone’s home. But at times it can be a real slap in the face by Reality. People suffer, they hurt, they cry, their lives are turned upside down and sometimes with no hope of ever being turned right side up again.

I’m currently seeing a young woman, just 34, with multiple sclerosis. She lives with her sister as she is unable to care for herself. Her movements are jerky, uncoordinated, and awkward. She walks using a walker and much effort so spends most of her time in a wheelchair. She has a seven-year-old son.

Most of the time she smiles and talks the best she can. She is such a sweet woman, such a kind soul.

Seeing how this awful disease has overtaken her and slowly debilitated her is saddening and maddening. It’s downright cruel and viscious and merciless. I hate MS.

But the thing that’s the hardest is watching her interact with her seven-year-old son. Her sister is raising the boy, stepping in as his surrogate mother, but I can tell my patient wants to be his mommy. Every boy needs a mommy. I can see the pain in her eyes when she can’t be there for him or when her sister has to step in and do what she cannot. It’s enough to put a knot in my throat and tears in my eyes.

So what do I do? Try to brighten her day as much as I can. Encourage her. Point out the areas where she’s improving and celebrate what she can do. And pray for her.

Folks, none of us know what tomorrow holds. No one can tell what next year will bring. All of us are just one day away, one hour away, one minute, one second away from having our lives turned upside down. But for the grace of God I could be that thirty-something unable to care for my own children.

Celebrate, praise, laugh, love, run and play and explore and enjoy . . .

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on November 19, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This brought tears to my eyes! Just yesterday a friend of mine – vibrant, young, energetic youth pastor's wife had surgery to remove a brain tumor. Last week, she was fine.Praise, jump, laugh, love and play TODAY!!!A-Men, Mike! A-Men!!

    Like

  2. Susan J. Reinhardt

    I remember my late husband expressing regret over not having done a specific task. His words: "I thought I had more time." We learned very quickly that life can change in a split second.Thanks for reminding us that life is fragile.Blessings,Susan

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

