I Want to Be Like Mary (Not Literally)


Reading through the Christmas account in Luke I’m amazed at how much is in there that I can apply to my life (of course, that’s the beauty and wonder of God’s Word, isn’t it?). I mean, I’m no longer a teen, I’m certainly not female, I’m married, I’m not Jewish, and, obviously, I don’t live in the first century nor do I live in Israel, but I can relate so much to Mary’s story and learn so much from it that I can apply to my life.

In the first chapter of Luke the angel Gabriel appears to Mary, a young teen, a virgin. Gabriel proceeds to tell Mary some pretty unbelievable stuff. She, a virgin, is going to have a baby, and as if that’s not enough, the baby will be God’s seed, the Son of the Most High. He then tells her that Elizabeth, her cousin, old and barren, is already six months pregnant.

Now, if I’m a teenage virgin girl and an angel appears to me out of nowhere and tells me this stuff I’m going through a range of emotions. Fear, shock, disbelief, more fear, you get the point. But what Mary says is remarkable and can teach us a lot about true faith.

In verse 38 she says, “I am the Lord’s servant, may it be to me as you have said.”

Has God every asked you to do something big, something that was going to stretch you and challenge you? Has he ever stood you on the precipice of a great valley and you just knew it was because you were going to have to go through that valley? Or how about at the foot of a monstrous mountain that had your name written all over it? I know I’ve been there and will be again. I can only pray I have enough faith to look at the challenge before me and say, “Lord, I’m your servant, let whatever may happen, happen. I’m with You.”

It surprises me (though it shouldn’t) that Mary didn’t argue, she didn’t doubt, she didn’t complain, and I doubt she fully understood what was about to happen to her . . . she just accepted it as from the hand of God and that was good enough for her.

Man, I want to be there. I want that kind of faith.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on December 18, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on I Want to Be Like Mary (Not Literally).

Comments are closed.

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

