Real Book vs. Electronic Book


The big news this past year in publishing has been the popularity of the e-reader. There’s the Amazon Kindle, the Sony Reader, and the Barnes and Noble Nook. Also, coming on strong is the e-book download. More and more publishers are catching on to this wave of the future and offering their books in some form of electronic format.

For me, personally, I hate reading off a screen. I can only sit in front of a computer for so long before my eyes get buggy and my hind end gets numb. I need a real book to hold and smell and real pages to turn and dog-ear. That’s just me. I’ll always prefer a “real” book over an electronic one (of course, I said I’d never get a cell phone too and now couldn’t do my job without one (I still don’t like it, though)).

So how about you? Do you prefer real pages to turn over digital ones? Or are you riding the electronic book wave?

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on December 29, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I haven't tried one of the ebook readers yet. I've downloaded books on my computer — but it's a different kind of reading — I have to read in shorter chunks of time. I'll reserve judgment until I do an official ebook reader, but I'm wondering what will happen to used book stores.

    Like

  2. Susan J. Reinhardt

    No contest, Mike – I want the real deal. Curling up with a cup of tea and an ebook reader? It doesn't work for me.Blessings,Susan 🙂

    Like

  3. I am all for books. I am a book lover, and having it on a screen just doesn't cut it, and you can take a book anywhere you can take a Kindle or Nook. I like seeing my books on a shelf, handling them, enjoying them. You can't do that if they are on a small computer device.

    Like

  4. I prefer a book too! And a cup of tea to go with it. Even when I get a 'free report' off of the internet (something I usually can't resist), I make a paper copy of it and then sit down with a cup of tea and a marking pen and enjoy the ideas and add my own scribble notes. It just isn't the same on the screen. Does anyone out there remember Marshall McCluhan's "The Medium is the Message"? He claimed that TV was a cold medium, radio warm, and a book hot. The higher temperature was related to the amount of human involvement in the medium. I wonder what he would have said about the computer?

    Like

  5. Definitely have to go with real books for my personal reading but I don't mind an ereader for books I need to read as research for work.

    Like

  6. I also prefer the book. I like to be able to take it anywhere I go. I get myself confortable and read. I sometimes like to go back and recheck something which would be hard without the real book. There is nothing like the real thing.

    Like

  7. I deffinately prefer a “real” book. It is much easier on the eyes than reading from an electronic screen. Also, I do alot of my reading snuggled up in bed at night. If I fall asleep with a real book, I am not wasting any battery power or other energy sources.

    Like

  8. Sounds to me like real books are winning. It’s interesting that it seems the future of book publishing is growing morea and more digital and electronic but the good old-fashioned paper and ink book will never go out of style. Long live the real book!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

