2009 in Review . . . What a Year!


Well, here it is, my new web presence. I’m still working out some of the glitches and trying to get my domain name straightened out but I think what I have so far is at least workable, for now.

This is one attempt to simplify my life. I was finding it increasingly difficult to keep up with a blog and a website and the website was suffering. For months I wasn’t happy with my site, wasn’t updating it, wasn’t maintaining it, and, quite frankly, it annoyed me. So I had this light bulb moment . . . why not combine the two? So I did. And here it is. Nothing extravagant, no bells and whistles, just simple and functional . . . kind of like me.

If there is any information you’d like to see on here that isn’t, please leave a comment letting me know.

Now, for my year in review. Someone asked me the question, What has God done in your life this past year?

Um, how much time do you have?

  • I had my ileostomy reversed in January. This, in my mind, finalized my battle with cancer. Yes, the war still goes on, if no where else than in my own mind and emotions, but the battle has been won.
  • In March I had my first skirmish with a small bowel obstruction and landed in the hospital for four days with a rubber hose up my nose. I would have another skirmish with same obstruction and rubber hose in October.
  • Two weeks after the above skirmish and two months after completing my bout with cancer I ran my first 5K (ever) and did much better than I expected. It was more a moral victory than anything. My way of snubbing my nose at cancer.
  • I turned 37!
  • Scream, my second novel, hit store shelves. Praise God it was very well received.
  • I finished another novel, Darlington Woods, and it will release May 4th.
  • This was my first year being on faculty at the Greater Philadelphia Christian Writer’s Conference.
  • I finished my third and final year serving as an elder at our church.
  • I watched Jen and my three girls all turn a year older.
  • We found out our youngest daughter has juvenile arthritis and have been holding her hand through those rough waters.
  • Several new friends have found their way into my life, encouraging me and ministering to me in ways they are not even aware.
  • I started a new job, provided totally by God, exceedingly, abundantly more than I ever expected.
  • I ran two more 5Ks.
  • I kicked cancer’s butt.

What a year it was! Ups and downs like any year, but full of surprises, accomplishments, blessings, and smiles all around. Have a blessed and happy New Year.

God is good. All the time.

So how about you. What’s one thing God did in your life this year?

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on December 31, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. What did God do for me? Well, but the one thing that stands out is that He was faithful, as always. And you see it, too, Mike. This thing called life can be scary and exhilirating and boring and heartbreaking, but He is always faithful. (And, by the way, I like the web site/blog – nice job!)

    Like

  2. Mike,
    This is COOL! Great change! I think both you and your readers will enjoy this immensely!

    Happy New Year!

    Like

  3. He is the constant, isn’t He, Glynn? Life has its hills and valleys, ups and downs, struggles and triumphs, but God good . . . consistently.

    Like

  4. I’m looking to combine my blogs/website as well. I currently use wordpress, but I was thinking of moving my blog back to blogger because of readership. I’d like to know if you see a difference in people coming to your blog, but then again, your have a solid following. I’m still trying to build mine!

    Like

    • Gina, so far it’s too early to tell what my move will do to readership. I do realize with blogger it’s easier to “follow” a blog. But I’ve found it’s so much easier to manage both blog aspects and website aspects in WordPress. And I just like the look and feel and WordPress better. I guess I’m hoping that by combining the website and blog readership will grow. But that’s something the next year will reveal . . .

      Thanks for the comment. And let us know when you’ve made the move.

      Like

  5. I guess I’m reading these backwards – oh well!

    I have to say that cancer’s butt is being kicked all over the world in 2009/2010! It’s great to be able to hear praise reports about it – thanks for sharing!

    I too was able to watch myself and my family grow one year older (me-38, hubby-40, daughters-13 & 14) and sometimes I think “What’s the point?” But then God shows me His power as long-time friends get saved (yay!!!) and people are healed!!! So, what’s God done this year? Someone already said it but I’ll say it again – God is faithful even when we think He’s letting us down!

    Great new site – looking forward to an awesome 2010!

    anne 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for sharing, Anne. I’m always amazed at how clear things are in life’s rear view mirror. It’s fun to look back and see God’s fingerprints on our life. Happy new year to you, too!

      Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

