My Fear of Heights


This is the last weekend before my class starts at Lancaster Bible College.

In case you’re just catching up, last fall I was offered and accepted an adjunct teaching position at Lancaster Bible College in Lancaster, PA. So for the past month I’ve been busy working up a syllabus, grading rubric for papers, lecture notes, and so forth.

The class, called “Writing for Publication,” is a choice for one of the required English courses freshman must take. It will be held Monday evenings from 6-9 pm and go for fifteen weeks. And no, I’m not quitting my day job.

I’m excited about this opportunity as it will be my first of this sort. I’m excited to meet my students and interact with them. I’m excited to pass on a bit of what I’ve learned. I’m excited to hopefully instill in others the love and passion for writing that I possess.

And I’m also nervous. I want to do a good job. I want to educate, yes, but I also want to inspire. And that’s not always something you can control.

My title is now “adjunct professor.” Not sure I’m comfortable with that. When I was in college, professors were on pretty lofty pedestals. Most had either no hair or silver coifs. I have plenty of hair and it’s only just beginning to gray a little.

And I have a fear of heights.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on January 15, 2010, in LBC Class and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Marquette Garvick

    I’ll be praying for you. You are a fine teacher I’ve always enjoyed sitting under your teaching. By the way I really like the cover for Darlington Woods, way cool, not so creepy.

    Like

  2. I don’t know, Mike, “Dr. Dellosso” has a nice ring to it. We’ll be praying, and you’ll do great.

    Like

  3. You’ll do great – the way you come across on here, sounds like you’d make a great teacher.
    Lancaster Bible College, huh? Been past there several times – now I am jealous of you – I love that area, love to vacation there, and you live there? Life indeed is not fair man. 😉

    Like

  4. Mike,
    I’m sure you will do a great job! It has been 20+ years since I sat in my first fiction writing class. Our professor was a published author like yourself, and he had us write – and write – and write – and write some more! I still have the pages he edited and the comments he used to teach me. He is the first person who told me I could write and should be published. My first experience submitting manuscripts of a completed novel resulted from that long ago class.

    You will be FABULOUS! Oh that there had been a class like this for me all those years ago! Your students will be blessed! Praying for your efforts there….

    Like

  5. Thank you all for the encouraging words. I hope to make it a memorable class. My goal is that every student will leave with at least one publishing credit they can put in their portfolio. I’ll work hard to make sure that happens.

    Mark, Lancaster is a beautiful area (land of the Amish). I actually live in Hanover and work in Gettysburg. G-burg is an extremely beautiful locale. I drive through the battlefields every day, sometimes stopping to take a quick walk (sometimes). You should see it in the fall . . . it’s more than I deserve.

    Like

  6. I’ll be praying for your Mike. With your spirit and ability your students are in for blessing.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

