Trying Not to Put Anyone in a Coma


Okay, so I had my first experience as a college professor last night and, um . . . it was interesting. I have nine students, all fine young men and women. Two of them are high schoolers getting a headstart on their college work which is really cool (they’re called JumpStart students).

But it reminded me of my college days, especially those three-hour evening courses.

Here’s some things I learned on my first night:

  • College students are not the most outgoing, talkative people around. Unless you pull discussion out of them, they tend to be content just listening.
  • There must be something really intriguing on the floor that I’m not aware of.
  • The clock on the wall is the most interesting item in the classroom.
  • Black and white analog clocks are just as fascinating now as they were when I was in college.
  • There are college students out there who actually like writing. I’m impressed with the guys and gals in my class!
  • With this being my first teaching experience in this setting, I’m going to have a learning curve, I just hope I don’t bore the students into a coma in the meantime.
  • Writing is not as exciting to everyone else as it is to me.
  • There may be nine students, but there’s ten of us learning.

The class is called “Writing for Publication” and they have three major assignments. One, create a blog and post on it at least twice a week, every week. Two, write a short article (750 words) and submit it to a publication. And three, write a 1,500 word article or short story and submit it to a publication. Of course, we’ll go into the writing process, the researching the market process, and the submission process.

I told the students that my goal for the class is that all of them would have one of their articles published, that they would all walk away from this semester with at least one publishing credit. A lofty goal indeed, but I’m willing to work hard and do everything I can to make sure that happens.

In other news, I got my “first pages” of Darlington Woods yesterday. That’s my first look at the typeset version of the book. I have one last chance to read over it, find typos, and make any last-minute minor changes. Then it’s off to the proofreader for one more read-over and then to the printer.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on January 19, 2010, in LBC Class and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. It will change; some may still find the floor utterly fascinating and some will catch on and start to engage. And you’ll learn as much if not more. You’ll need to keep us updated — and do they read your blog?

    Like

    • Thanks, Glynn. I’ll definately keep posts on how things are going. By the beginning of next week everyone will have everyone else’s blog address. I’m hoping to get interaction that way.

      Like

  2. Having taught college age in our church for years I sympathize. I also want to encourage you because, in the end, they will challenge you as much as you do them. For the most part, that age group tends to painfully transparent. I have no doubt you will do a great job.

    Like

  3. Sounds like a memory of my college days…you’ll do great!! I imagine this will be an unforgettable experience, and one that will provide you with fodder for the grist mill of your own writing!

    Like

  4. Thanks for commments. On first impressions, this really does seem to be a great group of folks. I think once we get more comfortable with each other the real fun will begin. I’m looking forward to both challenging and being challenged, sharpening and being sharpened.

    Like

  5. Hi Mike –

    The class assignments sound great. Hey, I already have a blog, and I submitted a short story for publication. I’m 2/3 of the way there.

    I hope those students appreciate having a published author for a teacher. 🙂

    Blessings,
    Susan

    Like

  6. Make them read your books as part of their assignment 🙂

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

