I See Dead People


I’m a people-watcher. I’d be perfectly content to spend an afternoon at the mall sitting on a bench just watching people go by. Studying their facial expressions as they talk, seeing what they do behind each other’s back, eavesdropping on their conversations. People are fascinating.

In fact, I’ve become so adept at watching people I pick up things others miss. A dip in the corner of the mouth. A momentary shift in the eyes. Wringing hands. Shuffling feet. An awkward smile. It all speaks volumes. Words are cheap and, let’s face it, lying is easy, but body language tells the real story.

When I was younger I stuttered pretty bad (I still do stutter but nearly as severe). I spoke seldomly unless I had to. In most group settings I was the silent observer, taking in all I could and formulating my own thoughts that were never expressed. This was the beginning of my people-watching.

And I learned something:

Know how to interpret someone’s non-verbal language and you get a peek directly into his or her soul. Sometimes it’s scary, most of the time saddening. People are hurting, they’re hiding, they wear masks and paste on phony smiles. They say everything’s “fine” when it’s far from it. They are longing for exceptance somewhere, anywhere, to fit in and be loved. They’re dead on the inside, hopeless, lost, and scared.

Try it sometime. Go to a crowded place, find a comfortable seat, and watch and listen. You may just learn something. About others. About yourself.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on January 22, 2010, in Life in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. And Mike, it’s everywhere. I see it at work, in the grocery store, at church. And I think it’s all of us.

    Like

  2. You know the first thing this made me think? I wonder what people see when they observe me? Do they see joy? Contentment? Christ reflected in my words and actions? Food for thought here!!

    Like

  3. Glynn, you’re absolutely right. Everyone wears a mask.

    Kim, I often think the same thing. How do people read me? Am I shining the Light in a dark world?

    Thanks for the thoughts.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

