One Gonzo Geezer


Yesterday was our last Sunday in Children’s Church for another two months. We operate on a three-month cycle with two other teaching teams. It’s always a little bitter-sweet. I enjoy getting into the lessons and teaching them to the kids, but breathe out a sigh when we’re finished our rotation. It’s nice to be able to sit in the “big church” again with “all the grown-ups.”

Our lesson yesterday was on brother Caleb.

Boy what a man. We tend to have this picture of Joshua and Caleb, the only survivors from the wilderness wanderings, conquering the land of Canaan as strapping, thick-muscled young warriors, but in reality they were a couple of geezers. Caleb was 80 when the children of Israel crossed the Jordan. When he was 85 he went to Joshua and reminded him of a promise Moses made him some 45 years prior, that whatever land his feet touched in the Promised Land would be his land for the taking.

At 85, Caleb was ready to cash in. He told Joshua:

Here I am today, eighty-five yeas old! I am still as strong today as I was the day Moses sent me out; I’m just as vigorous to go out to battle now as I was then. Now give me this hill country that the LORD promised me that day.

Now, I don’t know if Caleb really was as strong at 85 as he was at 40–my guess is not–but you have to admire the guy for his enthusiasm and faith. And (AND) for still being willing to fight the good fight at an advanced age. I’m thinking Caleb knew he’d lost some spring in his step and bulge in his muscles, that his sword swinging wasn’t quite as precise and his reflexes just a bit slower . . . but I’m also thinking he new good and well he wouldn’t be fighting the battles anyway. He was a man that took God at his word and if God said he would fight for the faithful then Caleb was going to take him up on that.

I have a different picture of Caleb in my head now. Deeply creviced face, wild white hair, tight sinewy muscles, back straight as a rod, and the fires of heaven in his eyes.

I can only hope at 85 that I have half the fervor and faith Caleb had, but something tells me now is the time to stoke that fire, now is the time to look to the hill country and take God up on his word. He won’t disappoint!

Here’s two more of my students’ blogs for you to enjoy. Please visit them, and if you’re so inclined, leave a comment.

Kaykasea’s Blog “As a small child, I knew that someday I would back away from the world I have here and find a way to be a part of another one far removed from this comfortable life . . .”

Be Strong and Courageous “I’ve decided to utilize this opportunity to share my insights, views on life and various forms of pop culture.”

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on January 25, 2010, in Bible Study, LBC Class and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on One Gonzo Geezer.

Comments are closed.

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

