The Enemy Has Us Cornered


Daddy’s Log
1.27.10  5:50 a.m. EST

I’m surrounded. Backed into a corner with no defense but time. And it is only a matter of time, I’m sure of it. It’s an odd feeling, seeing your impending doom, knowing it’s just around the corner, waiting to creep in like an inky shadow stretching its tentacles at sundown. There’s almost a feeling of peace about it, of acceptance. It will come as no surprise.

Three of us have fallen. Two remain.

The nights have been sleepless, restless at best. Fear has settled among us as well, like that unwanted guest that doesn’t realize he was never invited.

It’s funny how when tensions are high and tolerance low that everything takes on a new light. Things that were once enjoyable are now a nuisance. Things peaceful are now troublesome. Comfort is a thing of dreams, when dreams are allowed to come.

Everyone is on a razor’s edge, sleep-deprived, fear-stricken . . . waiting for the dark foe to finish the rest of us off.

I try not to think about it, try not to imagine every twinge or pang as the work of the enemy. It could be nothing . . . it could be the beginning of the end.

Until it comes, until that black venom infiltrates my blood, I’ll live my life as I live it every day. And hope and pray that some way, by some miracle of God’s grace, I escape the clutches of this foul enemy.

Interpretation: last night our emetophobic daughter, Abby, realized her worst nightmare and came down with the stomach virus. All three girls have it now, leaving Jen and I to wait and grow anxious for the day, the hour, when we fall prey to our microscopic enemy.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on January 27, 2010, in Life in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. The night after we had our second child, his older brother got the stomach flu — all over his room, the bathroom and the hall. At 2 a.m. I cleaned him up and pitched him into our bed, and spent two hours cleaning. The next night, Mom and new child were home — and I got the flu. Whatever else it did, it made a good story for the kids. Praying for you guys, Mike.

    Like

  2. I’m sorry…this made me laugh. Only because back in December the EXACT thing happened in our house!! We NEVER get stomach stuff. NEVER!! Well, my youngest son began…the oldest followed…hubby was next…and I was terrified to eat for four days! Then I got it!! It was AWFUL!! I know the fear! I know the razor’s edge of sleeplessness…but I also know that this too shall pass.

    Hang in there my friend! Hang in there!!

    Like

  3. Same thing going on at my house…just waiting for my impending doom!!!Thanks for the laugh this morning. I will pray for you that God will provide a shield of protection against those microscopic demons, who are ready and willing to wreck havoc on your mind and body. (for a day or two anyway)!!!! Will be praying for you and your girls.

    Like

  4. Thanks for the prayers! This stomach bug is aggressive and mean-spirited, not my type of company at all. An uninvited and unwanted guest indeed.

    Ben, hope you dodge the bullet too!

    Like

  5. And here I thought you were under an attack by the devil 🙂 – hope everyone gets well soon

    Like

  1. Pingback: Most Tweeted Articles by Poetry Experts: MrTweet

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

