Bad Book Titles Revealed!


During Monday night’s “Writing for Publication” class we talked about choosing titles for magazine articles and books. Obviously, picking the right title is critical; it’s the first thing a reader sees and the first thing to catch his or her attention. It has to be good.

As a writer, it’s our job to pick a winner of a title but the final say is always the publisher’s. Titles get changed all the time. Fortunately, I’ve not had one of mine changed yet. But sometimes you come across a book and think, Ouch, how did that slip by?

Okay, here’s some really bad book titles I found while browsing the web:

Really? The editors didn’t catch the obvious double meaning of these Winnie the Pooh books? They’re children’s books, for crying out loud! Children are obsessed wth poo.

Somewhere along the line either an editor or marketing person said, “No really, guys, I think the title will work. Teens will dig it. I mean, everyone wants to be awesome, right?” And the rest of the team bought it. Shame on them. Apparently, the guy with the blonde hair has mastered Awesome.

Okay, I have a September 1 deadline for my next book, Darkness Follows, and that means I need to get started now so I’m not crunched for time come June. So that means I’ll have to cut back on the frequency of these blog posts. I’ll try to post at least a couple to three times a week but don’t hold me to that. Of course, if there’s any breaking news or anything profound I must get off my chest, I’ll be here. Check back often because you never know when I’ll show up . .  . muhahaha . . . muhahaha . . . MUHAHAHA . . . okay, that’s enough.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on February 10, 2010, in Writing Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Evil laugh? Hmmmm! You are in the zone! Write on!! Write on!! Your fans await!!

    Like

  2. I’m cracking up at those Pooh books right now and feeling oh-so-immature in the process!

    Like

  3. Cooking with Pooh!! How kids could so take that the wrong way 🙂

    Like

  4. Thanks for the laugh. 🙂

    Blessings,
    Susan

    Like

  5. Hey! I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed class on Monday. This section definitely had Ben and I rolling for the rest of the evening. See you tomorrow.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

