God Never Says “I Quit”


Once a week I try to do “family devotions” with Jen and the kids. Nothing special, just reading a passage of Scripture and talking about it, maybe explain it for the kids then ask some probing questions. Yesterday we started on the book of Philippians.

In chapter one, verse 6, Paul says, “being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.”

Now, a problem we have with our girls is the oft-moaned, “I can’t do it” or “I give up.” So often with kids, when times get tough or the road gets rough they throw in the towel. It ain’t worth it.

Is there a better verse to illustrate God’s sick-to-itness? I explained to my girls that when we became a Christian God started a work in us, a work to make us more and more like Him, like Jesus, and He will never quit and never give up on us. No matter what we do or how much we complain or give Him a hard time or let Him down, God keeps working on us.

God never, ever, says “I give up” or “I quit” or “I can’t.”  What He starts He finishes.

I saw a few light bulbs click on. It’s always so neat when you watch kids “get” God’s Word. And hey, I was reminded of a valuable lesson too. There are lots of times when I want to take a seat or when I’m searching in vain for that “easy button.” But sometimes there’s just no easy way and taking a seat is not an option. We have to press on, we have to complete what was started and see it through to the end. And that, in itself, serves to sculpt us more into the image of our Creator.

Good stuff.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on February 19, 2010, in Scripture, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This is “my” verse — the one that was given to me when I became a Christian, by the guy who led me to Christ. He wrote it in the inside cover of the Bible he gave me that night. And I’ve ccome back to it again and again whenever I think I’ve failed.

    Good stuff, indeed.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

