The Scenery of My Life


Scene 1:

Today I saw a patient for the last time. He’s come a long way and has improved much over the past few weeks. Along the way we had some pretty good talks about life and suffering and counting your blessings.  Before I left I shook his hand, wished him all the best, and told him I enjoyed working with him.

He shook my hand back and in his raspy voice said, “Mike, thanks for not only being my therapist but for being my friend too.”

Folks, it’s stuff like that that makes my job worth every minute I put into it. And there’s a lesson to be learned there too, for me, for you. People come first. Not schedules or policies or rules and regulations . . . but people.

Scene 2:

Last month when we got roundhoused by a snow storm a section of our rain spouting over our front porch fell off. It’s still on the roof of the front porch.

During dinner Jen asked me if I was going to fix the spouting soon. I said I would get to it on Saturday.

And this is how the conversation went from there.

Abby: “Dad, how are you gonna fix it?”

Me: “I’ll climb out onto the roof.”

Caroline: “What if you fall?”

Me: “I won’t fall.”

Caroline: “But what if you break your head?”

Me: “I won’t fall.”

Caroline: “Maybe you should wear a helmet.”

Me: “I won’t fall.”

Now there’s an image. Me on the roof with a football helmet on nailing the spouting back into place.

Ah, to have the support of your family. I’m glad they have such confidence in their dad. Or maybe they just know that I’m no Bob Vila . . . I’m not even Tim the Toolman.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on March 11, 2010, in Life in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on The Scenery of My Life.

Comments are closed.

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

