Celebrating Survivorhood


Yesterday I broke the news that I was offered a new contract, but it wasn’t the only thing I was celebrating. St. Patrick’s Day, March 17, marked my two-year anniversary as a cancer survivor. That’s right, it was St. Patty’s Day 2008 when I received the phone call from my gastroenterologist informing me that the biopsy results were in and I did, indeed, have colon cancer. And I was even wearing green. Talk about a turn of events.

Obviously, the day brings much reflection and thanksgiving. In ways, the two years have blown past like a freight train going past a hobo (as my dad says) and in other ways it seems like two decades. Looking back, things seem much worse now than they seemed when I was going through them. God’s grace is like that.

In honor of that fateful day, I’d like to repost what I wrote the day after in 2008.

There’s a saying that says something about life throwing us curve balls. Well, yesterday I was thrown one that buckled my knees.

For the past couple months I’ve been having some “bowel issues” that finally landed me in the family doctor’s office. From there it was on to the gastroenterologist and a colonoscopy. A mass was found and biopsied. And then we waited.

Yesterday, I was sitting at my desk at work, phone to my ear, my mind churning–I’m only 35; I have no family history of any kind of cancer; I have a wife and three daughters who I adore and adore me; I never drank or smoked; I’m not overweight; I have a book, my first novel, coming out in June–and the doctor is telling me “You have colon cancer.”

Curve ball. Big time.

“You have colon cancer.” Four words that carry such weight. Then he said things about catching it early . . . surgery to remove it . . . will need a CAT scan . . . follow-up appointments. And my mind kept getting stuck on I’m only 35; I have a wife and three daughters.

This morning my wife and I meet with the surgeon to discuss the options and course of treatment. I just want this thing out of me. It’s like an alien sucking my life away little by little.

And how do I handle all this? I don’t. I give it to God to handle. This one’s much bigger than me. You see, I realize full well that God knows my body better than anyone, and I know full well that nothing catches Him by surprise. Psalm 139 says God is an author. He wrote a story titled The Life and Times of Michael William Dellosso where every day–every triumph, every failure, every hardship, every mundane thing–is chronicled and detailed. And He wrote this book before I was even born!

This is part of the grand story of my life . . . we’ll see how it all concludes.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on March 17, 2010, in Cancer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. What a precious testimony Mike! PRAISE GOD!!

    Like

  2. Elizabeth Fisher

    We’re cheerin’ for ya, Mike!!!!! You are such a humble servant of the Lord. A true reflection of what it means to be a follower of Christ. Keep using your gifts and your trials to inspire those that God places in your path.

    Like

  3. Elizabeth Fisher

    Mike, somebody posted this and it’s nice for St. Patrick’s Day:
    The Prayer of St. Patrick “Christ be with me, Christ before me, Christ behind me, Christ deep within me, Christ below me, Christ above me, Christ at my right hand, Christ at my left hand, Christ as I lie down, Christ as I arise, Christ as I stand, Christ in the heart of everyone who thinks of me, Christ in the mouth ……of everyone who speaks of me, Christ in every eye that sees me, Christ in every ear that hears me.
    Thought you’d like to hear something positive about St. Patrick’s Day (for once). My cat was killed on St. Patty’s Day and I vowed never to wear green or acknowledge the day again. Now, I know that it’s the day that the Lord has made and I need to rejoice and be glad in it. I still don’t wear green (because I’m not Irish – HA-HA!!), but I don’t dwell on my cat. I try to think about what I can do to glorify God. Sounds like in some small way, we have something in common. *~*

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

