I Am What I Am


Well, I officially signed my contract for four more books with Realms, mailed it back to them, and got word today that they received it.

I was thinking about all this today and the remarkable journey God has led me on with my writing and how He’s taken me down roads I truly thought I’d never travel. When this most recent contract is up I will have published eight novels. Three years ago one novel was only a dream.

Oh me of little faith!

I was also thinking that I can’t ever–ever–take what He’s given me for granted. And I don’t.

Last week I came across a verse I’m sure I’ve read before, in fact I know I have, but for some reason never noticed . . . until this time (ever have that happen?).

1 Corinthians 15:10, But by the grace of God I am what I am.

Man, is that awesome or what? All that I am, all that has been accomplished, is by His grace alone. I am what I am and am where I am not because of anything I’ve done but because of His abundant grace. Period.

And for that reason I will continue to take my writing seriously and never, ever, take it for granted.

And if ever do or even sound like I do, please, someone give me the biggest karate chop to the solar plexus (you fans of 70’s and 80’s pro wrestling will know what that is) that’s ever been given to anyone walking on two legs. I’ll deserve it and then some.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on April 5, 2010, in Christian Living, Writing Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Mike it is good that you realize that.GOD has been dealing with me about Rich people that have everything but the most important thing which is a relationship with our LORD and SAVIOUR JESUS.It really breaks my heart to think when these wealthy people die the reset button will be pushed and all they have is in vain because if they dont have JESUS they will die and go to hell.We as Christians must get out of our confort zone and tell these people about JESUS the CHRIST.I feel like I have not done anything to further the Kingom of GOD in many years but today this will change.Please pray for me that I may witness to these lost people rich and poor.

    Like

    • Blair, wow, what a profession you’ve made. It is very sad when someone has gained the whole world yet lost his/her own soul. It’s a blessing to hear of your burden for them.

      You have been prayed for today.

      Like

  2. thank you for an enlightening post. Reading your posts gives me great encouragement during our times of change and transition. it’s so hard to trust and obey sometimes, isn’t it?

    Like

  3. Thank you Mike for this encouragement. No matter what we are called to do in this life – whether we are to write, dig a ditch, operate in a hospital or whatever our task we are given to do – may we ALL realize that we are who we are by the grace of God alone. Thank you for this timely reminder and blessed assurance!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

