Time to “Take a Peek”


Tuesday morning I have my routine 4-month sigmoidoscopy, that means Monday evening I’ll be drinking my bottle of magnesium citrate, the “sparkling laxative” and enjoying some quality time in the WC.

I’ve said this before but every time one of these tests take place I get a little anxious. My surgeon acts like it’s no big deal. He says he just needs to “take a peek.”  But the whole thing, from the laxative to the early morning appointment to the “gowning up” and lying my side on that hard table to the scope and watching the 60-second tour of my colon gives me the creeps. I know it shouldn’t. I know there’s nothing to worry about. I know this and yet I still fret. The what ifs start rearing their heads and whispering all kinds of things. I try not to listen but they’re very persistent.

So what will I do? Well, what can I do? What can any of us do? Nothing but trust and lean on my faith. I have absolutely no say over what’s going on in my colon,  but I do have a say over how I react to it. I can worry and fret and chew my nails to nubs or I can gather this whole ordeal up in my arms and dump it at the feet of Jesus. This is a burden he promised to take. And I’m more than willing to give it to him.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on April 11, 2010, in Cancer, Christian Living and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. There was a period of 10 months when I was 21 when I had a kidney stone problem. I had never experienced that kind of pain before (or since), and it was both imobilizng and excruciating. To this day, I can’t feel a pain or soreness in my lower back without being immediately reminded of kidney stones, and feeling a moment of panic. All I can do is (1) calm down and remember the other symptoms that I’m not experiencing and (2) remember to, as you point out, trust and lean.

    Like

  2. Praying for good results for you, Mike.

    Like

  3. hope and pray all goes well

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

