Sacrificing the Wrong Things


The other day I was talking to a man who lives in a beautiful log home in the mountains of northern Adams County, Pennsylvania. He also owns a farm in the middle of apple country and a cabin in northern PA.

For the past forty years he’s worked as a general laborer at a local production plant and has amassed a small fortune.

So how did he do it? Overtime.

He told me that when he began with this company he would work all the overtime he could get. He was rarely home to see his family.

I asked him if, looking back on it now, he regretted missing so much of his childrens’ life.

“Sure,” he said. “But you have to sacrifice something.”

Aw, man, shame on you. Shame. On. You.

Look, all of us have goals we’d like to reach, whether professionally, financially, or otherwise, and sacrifices need to be made to reach those goals. But sacrificing the wrong things makes the victory awfully bitter.

Honestly, this is a constant struggle for me. I want to progress in my writing, do more events, spend more time networking and marketing, write more books, but with a full-time job and a family and church responsibilities something has to be sacrificed. Lord, help me to not sacrifice my family.

Unfortunately, right now, the thing most often put on the chopping block is sleep.

I’d like to find a better solution, but for now I think this is what I’m stuck with. Any suggestions? I’m open to advice.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on April 25, 2010, in Life in General, Writing Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. This is a wise word, Mike. I’ve found that God “multiplies” my writing time when I sacrifice some of it for the “right things”. And sleep? I’m beginning to think insomnia is a gift.

    Like

    • Thanks for the comment, Mike. Encouraging. And, during some of my more foolish moments I’ve actually wished for a bit of insomnia so I can get something done. That’s just sick.

      Like

  2. Just skip grading our papers and give us all A’s.

    Like

  3. Mike – you are setting as a good example as I now with your family and life. Give what God wants you to give (time, money, job) and He will bless you in His own way.

    Like

  4. A great reminder – reminds me of the Casting Crowns song, American Dream. I have no suggestions, but it sounds like you have your priorities straight. Maybe your student had the right idea about grading papers 😉

    Like

  5. Subcontract? Maybee eye cood prouf reed four u? 🙂

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

